White Bean with Fennel Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
very salty and not enough beans to soup ratio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Delicious, hearty, easy, and flavor is not overly strong...this will likely become a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I didn't have any fennel, but I had all the other ingredients so I made this soup as prescribed but added some dried rosemary. I did pre-saute the onion and garlic as one reviewer suggested, and we grated some parmesan on top at serving time. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
so yummy. I think the next time I'll be adding more beans, but otherwise a really yummy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Loved this soup. I followed a suggestion and sauted the fennel, onion and garlic in 2 T olive oil and then added the rest to the pot to simmer for an hour. During the last 15 min. I added a little water and some dried cheese ravioli. Yummy! Also a dash of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
A very good soup! Easy and inexpensive to make and tastes great. My first impression was that it would be better as a side than as a meal, but then I found myself craving it for dinner and I've made it several times since then. It also works really well with garbanzo beans instead of the white kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Super easy. Very, very good. We made ours with a chopped yellow sweet potato, which added a nice flavor. Kids loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cut Bank, Montana, USA
Living In: Drummond, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I modified this a little but it was very good. I sauteed the fennel, onion, added carrot, and garlic in butter until a little caramelized then added chicken broth, two cans of drained white beans, one can of diced tomatoes and let simmer. I cooked a roll of Italian sausage and added some extra fennel seeds and some red pepper flakes, draining and adding to the soup. Didn't add the spinach but will next time. This was very good - and I will probably add some cream at the end next time to make it a little more "Tuscan."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The spinach totally overpowered everything else in this soup for me, and I would have liked more beans. I think I'll try it again down the road with about half the spinach and twice the beans. It had potential; definitely smelled great - just TOO MUCH SPINACH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate_elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I don't know why exactly we didn't enjoy this soup. We like fennel, we like broth soups, we like all the ingredients in this recipe. The aroma from the slow cooker was divine and my mouth watered in anticipation. But it didn't work for us, and we didn't even finish our bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States