White Bean, Turkey, and Sausage Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
This was a great recipe, but I did substitute lean ground turkey for the cutlets. I added a few red peppers since I had them on hand, and boy was this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Loved it....I used hot Italian chicken sausage out of the casing and crumbled and I also used extra lean ground chicken instead of the turkey cutlets. I use low sodium fat free chicken broth andded some chopped red peppers and a zucchini diced for more veggies. Very nice served with low fat sour cream and shredded cheddar with tortilla chips for dipping...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was surprisingly good! I was nervous about the large amount of cumin (and we love cumin) and garlic powder; but, the spices were not overpowering. I skipped the chopped jalapeños; but, I did add the whole jalapeños. I was curious about how that method would work. It adds a subtle layer of heat without having to chop the peppers. I also used hot Italian chicken sausage and lean ground turkey for the meat. I suggest browning the onions first in 1/2 tbs olive oil then use the other 1/2 tbs olive oil to cook the turkey separately. After browning the onions and turkey I put everything in the crock pot on high for 4 hours. Next time I might add a chopped tomato to the pot and then a bit of fresh parsley or cilantro in the final minutes if cooking. Top with some sour cream and cheddar cheese and serve with a hearty slice of rustic bread and a green salad for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Wow!!! I think I may like this better than my red chili. Only changes were I removed the sausage cases and browned (didn't fully cook) on the stove before cutting into pieces for the chili (instead of cooking in the oven). Also, added one 14 oz can of diced tomatoes with basil, garlic, and oregano. Used 2 jalapenos (not the other 2 that were optional). Simmered on stove for probably 4 hours. A little cheese, a little sour cream. Was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was excellent. I often keep leftover chicken and turkey in the freezer from previous baking. I used that and some andouille sausage. And the leftovers were great too. A little cornbread on the side and we were in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! A perfect use for Thanksgiving turkey leftovers. We used regular crumbled sausage. We threw all the ingredients into the crock pot and let it simmer all day. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Loved it! Seasonings are perfect and not overpowering at all. Making a second batch now. Yum! I did use Chicken Italian Sausage but other than that, kept everything the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I enjoyed this very much. It wasn't "chili" in the sense that most Texans think of red bean-type chili, but the flavor was very good. My husband suggested cooking the sausage out of the casing (as one reviewer had done) so it spreads a bit across each bite and, for us, adding carrots and perhaps another vegetable. I really liked the concept of adding in the whole jalapeno peppers during cooking. I'll use that idea in other stews/soups in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States