White Bean Spread With Garlic & Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I didn't add the juice from the beans (gross!) Instead I rinsed them as usual and subbed some white wine and water. Used as a spread on grilled vegetable and chicken wraps. Yummy, healthy -a new favourite for sure. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a toss up. Husband liked it I did not like at all. Rosemary too over-powering (for me). Thanks for sharing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
So much better than I thought, it was a big hit at the party. I prepared it early in the day and kept it in the fridge but warmed it a bit to room temp before serving. Such great flavors and so very easy (my 8 year old basically made it!). Fresh rosemary and garlic are the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Yummy and quick and - best yet - made entirely from things that are around in the kitchen anyway. I used 1/2 tsp of dried rosemary instead of fresh, sauteed it for a few minutes with three crushed cloves of garlic (by "crushed," I mean "smacked with the flat side of a chef's knife to get the paper off and then thrown in a pan," not "put through a garlic press") and then added the beans. I thought it needed a little acid to brighten it up; if I'd had lemon juice I would have used that, but since I didn't, I used some cayenne pepper sauce (like Frank's Red Hot) instead. It didn't need any salt but I added quite a bit of freshly ground black pepper. On whole wheat toast with a little grated parmesan, an easy and protein-riffic lunch! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I love this dish because what doesn't get eaten as an appetizer can then be used as a sandwich spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I thought that it was too garlicy, salty and powerful. The texture was ok once I added some chickpeas, but otherwise it was too soupy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach747

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Very good. I pressure cooked dry nothern beans for about 45 min (1/2 lb) and sauted minced garlic with ts of dry rosemary, threw in the beans with about 1/8 c of the broth, mashed it and stirred in some white wine, about 2 TB. I tasted it before adding the wine and thought the wine would be a nice touch. I used Chablis. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Fantastic! I wanted to make hummus when I realized that I didn't have any garbanzo beans. I made this instead and it was a hit! Per other suggestions, I added onion, a bit of white wine & some garlic salt (omitted rosemary per my own preference). YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I've made this a few times because it's so easy. The flavor is a little too bland for me but others like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States