White Bean Spread With Garlic & Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
This spread is deliciously flavorful and inexpensive to make. It's especially good for those without a food processor. Try it on some crusty bread with a slice of havarti or swiss for lunch. (hint: white beans are called "Great Northern Beans" in the south... it took about 15 minutes in the bean aisle to figure that out!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I liked this spread and used it on various wraps. I did need to add some salt and extra garlic because I found it a little bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Really good. I added fresh chopped parsley which gave it a really fresh and clean flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Very good and easy to make. I made this for a party and it was tough not to eat too much of it. Served with melba toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This is a good recipe, but next time I'll change some things. It did not come out thick like a spread, so I will reduce the liquid. Also, I will blend the beans in the food processor rather than do all that mashing. I thought that was a lot of needless work. Also, the garlic needs to be minced before putting it in the pan. It does not soften quickly enough to mash. The recipe needed a little salt, and I added a little extra garlic powder. Then it tasted good. This is a nice recipe to have on hand. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I sauteed onion with the garlic, then added kosher salt and white wine. Then I blended it instead of using a potato masher. It turned out awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This recipe is really good and super easy. Things I did... I sauteed the garlic in about 2 tablespoons of olive oil. I added the drained beans and sauteed them a little bit. I added a 1/4 cup of white wine. Warm through and then added to the food processor and pulsed. I also added about 2 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese in the processor. Used this on crusty Italian bread. I topped some with hot peppers to add a little heat and those were the best ones!!! Very easy recipe to make and different from the usual appetizers you put out. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Easy to make and delicious. Went well on assorted cracks. I would imagine that it would also work well with corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane442
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
What a great idea -- a dip made by mashing the beans while they're simmering. Anything to avoid dragging out/cleaning up the food processor! I used fresh rosemary from my garden and added 1/8 cube of Knorr's vegetable stock to enhance the flavor. Very easy to make, economical, and also nice to have a dairy-free dip to balance out whatever else you are serving that has cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This spread is so easy to put together...but the finished dip was so delicious that I was surprised! I had been planning to make hummus, but accidentally opened a can of white beans instead of a can of garbanzo beans (duh) so I had to come up with a different recipe for a bean dip to use them up. This one fit the bill! I had already drained the beans before I realized that I wasn't supposed to (another duh!) so I just added some water instead. Because I had drained the salt away with the liquid, I had to add a little more salt to the finished dip. I think the only way to improve the recipe would be to mince the garlic before it goes into the pan...mine took a while to cook down to be soft enough to mash. The flavors of rosemary and garlic really taste great together in this dish. Thanks for sharing the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States