White Bean Spread With Garlic & Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by TaraAnderson
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This spread is super simple and fast! I've always added some extra roasted garlic, and a little salt, to add more flavor, and then serve the spread on toasted baguette or pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This did not thicken as you would think - so less liquid is a must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This recipe is really good and super easy. Things I did... I sauteed the garlic in about 2 tablespoons of olive oil. I added the drained beans and sauteed them a little bit. I added a 1/4 cup of white wine. Warm through and then added to the food processor and pulsed. I also added about 2 tablespoons of Parmesan cheese in the processor. Used this on crusty Italian bread. I topped some with hot peppers to add a little heat and those were the best ones!!! Very easy recipe to make and different from the usual appetizers you put out. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This is actually white bean hummus. We did NOT like it the way the recipe was written. We tried our best to "doctor" it up but even with more garlic, more salt, more pepper, addition of parsley, chicken bouillon, roasted red bell peppers... tasting and adding every step of the way we were unable to make this work. I keep thinking that maybe it would have tasted better if it sat a day or two for the flavors to marry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This is a good recipe, but next time I'll change some things. It did not come out thick like a spread, so I will reduce the liquid. Also, I will blend the beans in the food processor rather than do all that mashing. I thought that was a lot of needless work. Also, the garlic needs to be minced before putting it in the pan. It does not soften quickly enough to mash. The recipe needed a little salt, and I added a little extra garlic powder. Then it tasted good. This is a nice recipe to have on hand. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
An easy and tasty dip. I used dried rosemary, but followed everything else. A nice recipe to keep handy when you're in need of a party dip at the last minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I did not care for this. All you could taste was the rosemary which was not a good combo with the beans. Nice idea, but lose the rosemary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
One of our local restaurants makes a dip very similar to this. My husband liked this one better. I wasn't quite as impressed as he was, but I did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmoore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane442
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
What a great idea -- a dip made by mashing the beans while they're simmering. Anything to avoid dragging out/cleaning up the food processor! I used fresh rosemary from my garden and added 1/8 cube of Knorr's vegetable stock to enhance the flavor. Very easy to make, economical, and also nice to have a dairy-free dip to balance out whatever else you are serving that has cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Very good - it was a hit. The only thing I'd change is maybe reducing the rosemary a little bit. That ended up being a very powerful taste. Otherwise, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States