White Bean Spread With Garlic & Rosemary Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This is actually white bean hummus. We did NOT like it the way the recipe was written. We tried our best to "doctor" it up but even with more garlic, more salt, more pepper, addition of parsley, chicken bouillon, roasted red bell peppers... tasting and adding every step of the way we were unable to make this work. I keep thinking that maybe it would have tasted better if it sat a day or two for the flavors to marry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by echomoon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cando, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This is a good recipe, but next time I'll change some things. It did not come out thick like a spread, so I will reduce the liquid. Also, I will blend the beans in the food processor rather than do all that mashing. I thought that was a lot of needless work. Also, the garlic needs to be minced before putting it in the pan. It does not soften quickly enough to mash. The recipe needed a little salt, and I added a little extra garlic powder. Then it tasted good. This is a nice recipe to have on hand. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
An easy and tasty dip. I used dried rosemary, but followed everything else. A nice recipe to keep handy when you're in need of a party dip at the last minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I did not care for this. All you could taste was the rosemary which was not a good combo with the beans. Nice idea, but lose the rosemary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
One of our local restaurants makes a dip very similar to this. My husband liked this one better. I wasn't quite as impressed as he was, but I did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmoore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane442
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
What a great idea -- a dip made by mashing the beans while they're simmering. Anything to avoid dragging out/cleaning up the food processor! I used fresh rosemary from my garden and added 1/8 cube of Knorr's vegetable stock to enhance the flavor. Very easy to make, economical, and also nice to have a dairy-free dip to balance out whatever else you are serving that has cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane442

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Very good - it was a hit. The only thing I'd change is maybe reducing the rosemary a little bit. That ended up being a very powerful taste. Otherwise, great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I didn't add the juice from the beans (gross!) Instead I rinsed them as usual and subbed some white wine and water. Used as a spread on grilled vegetable and chicken wraps. Yummy, healthy -a new favourite for sure. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was a toss up. Husband liked it I did not like at all. Rosemary too over-powering (for me). Thanks for sharing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States