White Bean, Spinach, and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I'm not exactly sure this recipe should be in the Soup collection; however, I very much like the flavor and textures. It is a very dry, thick stew - I ate it with a fork - but I don't know that I'd want more liquid in it. If you like these ingredients, you will most definitely like this recipe! (Note: I did spice it up a bit with jalapeno slices and Tabasco sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOTTSBELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Deee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Great ingredients, easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
This was a good filling and healthy meal. Very easy to prepare. I would perhaps experiment to spice it up a bit more next time - but overall a great recipe that I will keep on hand. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Reading the recipe, and a few other barley and vegetable containing recipes, I anticipated that it might be a bit on the bland side, as a number of the reviews stated. I used 2 cups of vegetable broth and one cup of water to cook the barley, and I also added a bit of garlic powder just before it was done. I really enjoyed this recipe. It was very filling. It was by first barley cooking experience, and despite reading that the recipe served 6, I must stay I was pretty surprised how much food I ended up with! Hopefully it keeps well, I'll be happy to have leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This stew was wonderful. Very easy to make and very filling -- it's the kind of stew you want on an afternoon when you're happy to be sitting inside and not be outside shoveling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My teenager who is a novice cook and vegetarian prepared this tonight! We all enjoyed it!. I spiced mine up with a little red hot. It is definitely a STEW not a soup and we appreciated the thick consistancy. i know i'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This was really good and simple to make.. My boys loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOF3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I thought this was one of the best stews I have made yet this season. I used four cups of vegetable broth instead of water to give it extra flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This was easy to make. Barley needs to cook at least 45 minutes. Used brandy instead of wine cause that is what I had in the house. Next time I will make with vegetable stockand use the canned tomatoes without draining. This is a very colorful dish with wonderful textures. But, it needs more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States