White Bean, Spinach, and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I wasn't too crazy about this dish. It certainly wasn't a stew. It was basically a meal. I did cook the barley in some stock to give it flavour and I also cooked it longer, as per another reviewer's suggestion. It might have been better if the dish was served over the barley instead of mixed in. I served it with a nice crusty bread. Though my husband I ate it and was ok, the kids weren't crazy about it (and they usually do like beans and grains and such). I won't be making it again. It's too bad...it seemed promising...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Deee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe. Like others have mentioned, we needed to season it with some additional salt, pepper, garlic and paprika, but overall a great, filling and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This was really good and simple to make.. My boys loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOF3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My teenager who is a novice cook and vegetarian prepared this tonight! We all enjoyed it!. I spiced mine up with a little red hot. It is definitely a STEW not a soup and we appreciated the thick consistancy. i know i'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
This stew was wonderful. Very easy to make and very filling -- it's the kind of stew you want on an afternoon when you're happy to be sitting inside and not be outside shoveling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
Pretty good soup. On recommendation of others, I used broth and water. I also used less barley so it wouldn't get as thick. Near the end of cooking, it was still really thick so I added a couple more cups of water. After salt & peppering it up it was pretty good. I've been craving something healthy like this and it hit the spot. While we ate, I left this on the stove on low for another 30 minutes or so and it got better the longer it cooked. So, if you have the time I'd recommend simmering on low for 30-40 minutes instead of 10 min. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
I'm only giving this a 3 because my mom loved it! It was very bland and I didn't like the yellow pepper but that's because I don't really care for peppers. Don't think I'll try it again, sorry : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Reading the recipe, and a few other barley and vegetable containing recipes, I anticipated that it might be a bit on the bland side, as a number of the reviews stated. I used 2 cups of vegetable broth and one cup of water to cook the barley, and I also added a bit of garlic powder just before it was done. I really enjoyed this recipe. It was very filling. It was by first barley cooking experience, and despite reading that the recipe served 6, I must stay I was pretty surprised how much food I ended up with! Hopefully it keeps well, I'll be happy to have leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I thought this recipe was bland and just generally lacking. Friends and boyfriend agree with this assessment. However it is healthy and my vegetarian daughter liked it and ate the entire casserole. Update. I made some changes, I use a 28 ounce can of tomatoes, add a bit of basil about 2 tsp and oregano, about 1 tsp and 1/2 tsp of thyme. At the end I add parsley oh and I boil the barley in broth. Everyone likes these changes. I still don't love it but I eat it and my daughter is still crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States