White Bean, Spinach, and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I'm sure the originial is awesome, but I modified the heck out of it -- didn't use any barley, used thyme instead of rosemary, doubled the beans used, added a chicken breast (baked and shredded, like rotisserie-style) and didn't use mushrooms or peppers. The soup basically had 4 ingredients: beans, tomatoes, chicken and spinach. It's enriched with lots of garlic, onion and a splash of white wine. Delicious! Healthy and tasty enough that my boyfriend will eat it too. Top with parmesan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
What a disappointment! This recipe looked good on paper, but didn't taste good at all. It was so bad that my husband, who usually eats everything, said he couldn't finish his bowl. I tried to save the soup by adding some tomatoes, but it didn't really help. The soup's taste is just too bland and the texture is just too weird (b/c of the couscous, I guess). I will never make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Downing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I LOVE the combo of white beans with barley. Like many others, I cooked the barley in broth, and I let it cook for about 45 mins. I used dried beans instead of canned, I started them about 15 mins before I started the barley. I omitted the mushrooms and yellow pepper, but upped the garlic. I added a tad of garam masala, and plenty of crushed red pepper. I let the mixture of everything except the spinach cook for 20 mins. Then I added the spinach (more than 2 cups) for the last 10 mins. We topped with shredded mozzarella cheese. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was very good, although I don't know if I'd call it a stew. there wasn't much liquid to it at all. I ended up using 2 cans of stewed tomatoes with out draining them. Taste was very good, but it was more like a side dish for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was very tasty, but as others have mentioned it was really almost too thick and needed some seasoning help. I added some vegetable stock to thin it out a bit and added some cajun type seasonings, more garlic and some more spinach to this. I tasted it right after I made it and really wasn't that impressed, but I let it sit in the fridge overnight and then WOW. Really much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
One word: Mmmmmm. Only changes were used pinto beans instead of white, and roasted the garlic in the oven instead of frying. Mmmmm. Mmmmm. Mmmmm. I am going to make lots of this and freeze it for my lunches now on Fridays during lent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. It was bland, like others said. The rosemary smelled wonderful cooking, but the flavor just wasn't there. Very easy to prepare! And it is a MEAL! Very thick and hearty. I left out the wine (who has two tablespoons of wine lying around?) and didn't have any peppers to add. All in all, it was a fine meal, but I probably won't repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
We honestly didn't care for this stew. It was very bland even after spicing it with herbs, more garlic and stock. I can't imagine the stew with only garlic, rosemary and a pinch of red pepper flakes. There are just other recipes for soups that I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is an excellent recipe - it reheats well and is even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
My daughter ate this but said it was a bit bland even with the pepper flakes. Not a bad dish by any means just not to her taste. Thanks for letting me try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States