White Bean, Spinach, and Barley Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I loved this recipe, and I did take the suggestions from other reviewers. I cooked the barley in chicken broth, and instead of a "pinch" of red pepper flakes, I used 1 tsp. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, and my whole family loved it. We've already made it twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
We loved this. I doubled the recipe so one pound of dried Great Northern beans (lovingly cooked at home because we do not like the taste of canned beans) and substituted 1 pound of chopped frozen collard greens added as the beans were added (the calcium in spinach is not bio-available).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Easy to make. We brought it to a potluck and our friends nearly finished off the whole bowl. I wonder if the people who found it bland might have used plain diced tomatoes rather than Italian style. I found it it have lots of flavor, although it was a bit on the salty side for me. I think next time I'll look for low salt Italian-style tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Not bad, but needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This dish is delicious! I made it with extra garlic, 2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Very good and hearty! I aded more water and some chicken soup mix to make it into a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Easy to make and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I'm sure the originial is awesome, but I modified the heck out of it -- didn't use any barley, used thyme instead of rosemary, doubled the beans used, added a chicken breast (baked and shredded, like rotisserie-style) and didn't use mushrooms or peppers. The soup basically had 4 ingredients: beans, tomatoes, chicken and spinach. It's enriched with lots of garlic, onion and a splash of white wine. Delicious! Healthy and tasty enough that my boyfriend will eat it too. Top with parmesan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
What a disappointment! This recipe looked good on paper, but didn't taste good at all. It was so bad that my husband, who usually eats everything, said he couldn't finish his bowl. I tried to save the soup by adding some tomatoes, but it didn't really help. The soup's taste is just too bland and the texture is just too weird (b/c of the couscous, I guess). I will never make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I LOVE the combo of white beans with barley. Like many others, I cooked the barley in broth, and I let it cook for about 45 mins. I used dried beans instead of canned, I started them about 15 mins before I started the barley. I omitted the mushrooms and yellow pepper, but upped the garlic. I added a tad of garam masala, and plenty of crushed red pepper. I let the mixture of everything except the spinach cook for 20 mins. Then I added the spinach (more than 2 cups) for the last 10 mins. We topped with shredded mozzarella cheese. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States