White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
added more white beans and a package of chopped spinach and just before serving a squeeze of lemon OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This is a really tasty soup! It's very fast (as far as soups go) and easy to make. Next time I will use more beans though. I only had 3 cups of chicken broth and so I used 3 cups broth and 1 cup water instead of the 5 cups broth and it was still really good. This would be good with ham or bacon too, if you wanted to add a meat! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Yummy! I took the advice of some previous reviews and made a few changes...three cloves of garlic, 2 carrots, 2 cans of chicken broth, 2 cans of white beans, 1 box of frozen chopped spinach, no summer savory. Didn't want to buy summer savory for only this recipe so skipped it. Not sure what I might be missing with skipping that - oh well. I cut up two Roma tomatoes and that wasn't quite enough. Will do 4 next time. Used had blender to thicken right in the pot so could skip the cooling off step - LOVE the hand blender!! Will definitely make again. Thanks for the great recipe! And a wonderful web site :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I made a few changes in the recipe since my wife is not a garlic lover. Since chicken stock comes 4 cips to the container, I used 4 cups of stock, 1/2 half an onion. I also added an additional can of beans. ( for additional bean taste) and added kale ( just because I had some) instead of savory. and I dropped the corn. This made an excellent soup. I used a hand blender to blend some of the beans and it came out just the right consistency. This is definitely a top drawer add on to any meal. Very easy to make and very healthy eating. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
on real cold winter days I'd probably add some bacon with the garlic and onions in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This recipe was wonderful. I did make a few changes. I used a can of seasoned tomatoes, 2 cans of vegetarian broth, 2 cans of white beans, and 4 small cut up red potatoes. After it cooked and I blended half of the soup, I heated it up and added fresh spinach until it wilted. The flavor and consistency was perfect and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I really LOVED this soup but also made a few changes and followed what a few others have done. Used 3 1/2 cups chicken broth, 1 1/2 cps fresh spinach, 2 carrots, used canned whole peeled tomatoes and quartered them, definitely needs 2 cans of white beans. I also used 5 strips of morning star bacon (vegetarian bacon) which really gave it the bacon flavor but still healthy without the grease. I also used hand electric blender only because we were very impatient and didn't want to wait for soup. It turned out absolutely perfect and I think I may puree the rest tomorrow to see how that does. (My daughter loves it that way) Easy, tasty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souplover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This soup is AWESOME. We threw in a handful of barley and a little extra garlic (garlic lovers) but aside from that, it will remain in our family recipes forever and ever. It is so healthy and so, so delicious. Make it at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This recipe was very flexible, allowing me to adapt it to what I had on hand: oil/butter, frozen diced peas and carrot, ham, garlic, chicken broth, white beans, orzo pasta, frozen whole tomatoes from our summer garden, thyme, and parsley. I added a little bit more butter for seasoning and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I love this recipe--I make it all the time and freeze the extra. It's a perfect lunch with a slice of good toast. I use veggie stock instead of chicken, making it vegetarian, and frozen corn instead of canned (which I think is healthier). I also sometimes used canned diced tomatoes if I don't have fresh, and I never have savory, so I use whatever herbs I have on hand--usually thyme, sage, and/or oregano. This is very tasty and satisfying, and also low calorie and healthful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States