White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
added more white beans and a package of chopped spinach and just before serving a squeeze of lemon OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This is a really tasty soup! It's very fast (as far as soups go) and easy to make. Next time I will use more beans though. I only had 3 cups of chicken broth and so I used 3 cups broth and 1 cup water instead of the 5 cups broth and it was still really good. This would be good with ham or bacon too, if you wanted to add a meat! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Yummy! I took the advice of some previous reviews and made a few changes...three cloves of garlic, 2 carrots, 2 cans of chicken broth, 2 cans of white beans, 1 box of frozen chopped spinach, no summer savory. Didn't want to buy summer savory for only this recipe so skipped it. Not sure what I might be missing with skipping that - oh well. I cut up two Roma tomatoes and that wasn't quite enough. Will do 4 next time. Used had blender to thicken right in the pot so could skip the cooling off step - LOVE the hand blender!! Will definitely make again. Thanks for the great recipe! And a wonderful web site :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This is tasty, but not quite as satisfying as I had hoped. I doubled the amount of beans as others suggested, but the soup was still rather watery. I like the addition of the tomatoes, but will definatly reduce the amount of liquid in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I just prepared this soup and it was a real hit! I made the following adjustments: I added 2 chopped red potatoes as well as a can of chopped spinach, as suggested by previous reviewers. I also added a few shallots to the onion and garlic mixture. Additionally, I substituted veggie broth (I am a vegetarian). My husband and I found the flavor and consistency to be excellent. He asked me specifically to add this to my 'rotation.' Plus- it's great for those of us with the infamous "I will lose weight" New Year's resolution. Try it with a crusty multigrain bread- DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUCCI013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Really Good! I took the suggestions of others and used vegitable broth, added more beans (and I mixed it up, northern beans, white kidney and garbanzo beans), potatoes, spinach and extra garlic. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Tasty but it was too watery. Next time I would only blend 1/4 of the soup instead of half. I added a bunch of torn up wheat bread to my bowl to make it thicker. Otherwise pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I made a few changes in the recipe since my wife is not a garlic lover. Since chicken stock comes 4 cips to the container, I used 4 cups of stock, 1/2 half an onion. I also added an additional can of beans. ( for additional bean taste) and added kale ( just because I had some) instead of savory. and I dropped the corn. This made an excellent soup. I used a hand blender to blend some of the beans and it came out just the right consistency. This is definitely a top drawer add on to any meal. Very easy to make and very healthy eating. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
on real cold winter days I'd probably add some bacon with the garlic and onions in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I only gave this a 4, because I changed it to suit our tastes the second time around. Changes: 2 carrots, 1/2 tsp. savory, 4 c. chicken broth and 2 cans white beans. Also good with zuchinni added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States