White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I made a few changes in the recipe since my wife is not a garlic lover. Since chicken stock comes 4 cips to the container, I used 4 cups of stock, 1/2 half an onion. I also added an additional can of beans. ( for additional bean taste) and added kale ( just because I had some) instead of savory. and I dropped the corn. This made an excellent soup. I used a hand blender to blend some of the beans and it came out just the right consistency. This is definitely a top drawer add on to any meal. Very easy to make and very healthy eating. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Tasty but it was too watery. Next time I would only blend 1/4 of the soup instead of half. I added a bunch of torn up wheat bread to my bowl to make it thicker. Otherwise pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Really Good! I took the suggestions of others and used vegitable broth, added more beans (and I mixed it up, northern beans, white kidney and garbanzo beans), potatoes, spinach and extra garlic. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
I just prepared this soup and it was a real hit! I made the following adjustments: I added 2 chopped red potatoes as well as a can of chopped spinach, as suggested by previous reviewers. I also added a few shallots to the onion and garlic mixture. Additionally, I substituted veggie broth (I am a vegetarian). My husband and I found the flavor and consistency to be excellent. He asked me specifically to add this to my 'rotation.' Plus- it's great for those of us with the infamous "I will lose weight" New Year's resolution. Try it with a crusty multigrain bread- DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUCCI013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
This is tasty, but not quite as satisfying as I had hoped. I doubled the amount of beans as others suggested, but the soup was still rather watery. I like the addition of the tomatoes, but will definatly reduce the amount of liquid in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Yummy! I took the advice of some previous reviews and made a few changes...three cloves of garlic, 2 carrots, 2 cans of chicken broth, 2 cans of white beans, 1 box of frozen chopped spinach, no summer savory. Didn't want to buy summer savory for only this recipe so skipped it. Not sure what I might be missing with skipping that - oh well. I cut up two Roma tomatoes and that wasn't quite enough. Will do 4 next time. Used had blender to thicken right in the pot so could skip the cooling off step - LOVE the hand blender!! Will definitely make again. Thanks for the great recipe! And a wonderful web site :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2004
This is a really tasty soup! It's very fast (as far as soups go) and easy to make. Next time I will use more beans though. I only had 3 cups of chicken broth and so I used 3 cups broth and 1 cup water instead of the 5 cups broth and it was still really good. This would be good with ham or bacon too, if you wanted to add a meat! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
added more white beans and a package of chopped spinach and just before serving a squeeze of lemon OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States