White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I love this recipe--I make it all the time and freeze the extra. It's a perfect lunch with a slice of good toast. I use veggie stock instead of chicken, making it vegetarian, and frozen corn instead of canned (which I think is healthier). I also sometimes used canned diced tomatoes if I don't have fresh, and I never have savory, so I use whatever herbs I have on hand--usually thyme, sage, and/or oregano. This is very tasty and satisfying, and also low calorie and healthful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Meh. Don't add corn or carrots if you're someone who likes the flavor of white beans. They distract. Maybe I'm a white bean purist. I like my white bean soup beany and this was not it. I'll not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
this soup was so good! My husband makes me make it all the time, and we have leftovers for days cause I make a little more than the recipie calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lala Tribble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Nice hearty soup. As others suggested, I used 2 carrots and 2 cans of beans. I used italian seasoning instead of thyme/savory/parsley and 4 cups homemade chicken broth with 2 cups water. It was bland as written, but after adding salt, black pepper, cumin, and paprika, it turned out good. I also added a handful of wheat rotini towards the end to make it a little heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This recipe was very flexible, allowing me to adapt it to what I had on hand: oil/butter, frozen diced peas and carrot, ham, garlic, chicken broth, white beans, orzo pasta, frozen whole tomatoes from our summer garden, thyme, and parsley. I added a little bit more butter for seasoning and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This soup is AWESOME. We threw in a handful of barley and a little extra garlic (garlic lovers) but aside from that, it will remain in our family recipes forever and ever. It is so healthy and so, so delicious. Make it at Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I really LOVED this soup but also made a few changes and followed what a few others have done. Used 3 1/2 cups chicken broth, 1 1/2 cps fresh spinach, 2 carrots, used canned whole peeled tomatoes and quartered them, definitely needs 2 cans of white beans. I also used 5 strips of morning star bacon (vegetarian bacon) which really gave it the bacon flavor but still healthy without the grease. I also used hand electric blender only because we were very impatient and didn't want to wait for soup. It turned out absolutely perfect and I think I may puree the rest tomorrow to see how that does. (My daughter loves it that way) Easy, tasty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souplover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This recipe was wonderful. I did make a few changes. I used a can of seasoned tomatoes, 2 cans of vegetarian broth, 2 cans of white beans, and 4 small cut up red potatoes. After it cooked and I blended half of the soup, I heated it up and added fresh spinach until it wilted. The flavor and consistency was perfect and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I only gave this a 4, because I changed it to suit our tastes the second time around. Changes: 2 carrots, 1/2 tsp. savory, 4 c. chicken broth and 2 cans white beans. Also good with zuchinni added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
on real cold winter days I'd probably add some bacon with the garlic and onions in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

White Bean Chicken Chili

A simple, hearty chili inspired by the flavors of old Mexico.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States