White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I loved the blender idea. I never knew how to get that consistency in my soups. I used different ingredients and also followed another review and blended only about 1/4 of the soup. Turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My husband (who is difficult to impress when it comes to cooking) said this was one of the best dishes I've ever made, so it's prompted me to write my very first review. I made a bunch of small modifications: - threw in a good handful of fresh thyme (3 whole sprigs and the leaves off of about another 4-5 springs) - used fresh parsley - used a can of white beans and a can of white kidney beans. I left a little of the juice in the kidney bean can and all the juice in the white bean can - added a can of hominy (no juice) - cut down on the chicken broth to 2 cans (4 cups) since I had the bean juice - used 8 large grape/very small roma tomatoes - added juice from 1/2 lemon at the end It was so flavorful, had lots of healthy veggies and just the right amount of broth! Perfect for a cold evening. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This soup was great on a cold day! We added sausage, I think next time we will add some pasta too. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ipss
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
We really enjoyed this soup. I followed some of the other suggestions, added spinach and some potatoes. I also did not add half of the soup to the food processor, I just left it all un-processed. Also added were some butter beans and white kidney beans. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ipss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Nummy soup! I loved the extra flavor that the corn brought a nice extra flavor. I followed the recipe exactly and I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Great start, though I admit I modified this recipe so much I might as well call it my own now. I sauted 1/2 a white onion, garlic cloves and a tsp of basil in the olive oil. Then added 2 carrots chopped (no corn), then 2 cans of beans, 1 14.5 oz can of no salt diced tomatoes, 4 c of chicken broth and some other spice blends I thought sounded good. Simmered for an hour, pureed and yum! Healthy and easy. Great with grilled cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Came out wonderful. Better the second day. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used a can of crushed tomatoes instead. Also omitted the corn, two cans of beans not really drained, and added zucchini. Didn't blend but still came out thick. Served with salad and fresh bread with butter. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I love this recipe--I make it all the time and freeze the extra. It's a perfect lunch with a slice of good toast. I use veggie stock instead of chicken, making it vegetarian, and frozen corn instead of canned (which I think is healthier). I also sometimes used canned diced tomatoes if I don't have fresh, and I never have savory, so I use whatever herbs I have on hand--usually thyme, sage, and/or oregano. This is very tasty and satisfying, and also low calorie and healthful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Meh. Don't add corn or carrots if you're someone who likes the flavor of white beans. They distract. Maybe I'm a white bean purist. I like my white bean soup beany and this was not it. I'll not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
this soup was so good! My husband makes me make it all the time, and we have leftovers for days cause I make a little more than the recipie calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States