White Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Pretty good, particularly for a quick prep soup. It's a good base and you can take it in so many directions. I took it into a bit of a spicier direction. I used homemade chicken stock, added 1 can of white hominy, 1 can of tomatoes, 1 can of white northern beans, 1 can of red kidney beans that were seasoned with cumin and lime, and added a tablespoon of the liquid from canned chipolte peppers with adobo sauce. Served it with a salad and crusty bread. Stay cozy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
If you love sweetcorn you'll love this. No more to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Great recipe! I add potatoes, kale and substituted the carrots one night with sweet potato. You can really add what you want to it. I make this weekly, my husband loves it and he doesn't eat white beans ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Sooooo good! I am looking forward to making this again. I served it to my family and extended family. Everyone enjoyed it. A refreshing different taste from most soups....and I love most soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
5 of the 6 in my family loved this. Rarely gets better than that!! Nice switch from chili...nearly all different ingredients, but still a nice, hearty soup. Since some of my family don't like tomatoes, I used a small can of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This was very tasty and by blending half of the ingredients, it played a little trick on my mind, making it feel even more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
AH-MAZ-ING!! I took some tips from other reviewers... 2 cans of beans, 2 carrots, 4 cloves of garlic, subbed vegetable broth, no summer savory but added 3 med. potatoes cubed. I used the hand blender to puree right in the pot, then wen I found it was a bit thin as others mentioned, I added a small spoonful of flour to thicken it up a bit. It was PERFECT! YUM! I will definitely be serving this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Just made this soup and was very pleased with the outcome! I didn't let it cook for 2 hours, just boiled on high for about 20 min....long enough to make the veggies tender but still a little crunchy. I also added sliced kielbasa sausage and a few chopped celery stalks. My whole family (1 1/2 yr old included) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Was ok, certainly not my favourite, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
For fear of the soup being too sweet, I used only half the amount of corn. I used dry white beans because the can ones in the store had sugar in them. I baked a chichen and had a great meal. for leftovers I added the rest of the chicken into the remaining and served it with french bread, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States