White Bean Soup with Quinoa, Spinach, and Shiitakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dfreem5
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I used the foundation of the recipe, but since I was looking for a vehicle for my homemade chicken broth, and I like tweaking recipes, I have some additions: included 1 cup diced chorizo, 1/2 red pepper, diced and 2 celery stalks when it was time to add the onion. Also added 3 tbsp minced garlic half way though the onion's cook time so it didnt burn.I also used 3 regular-sized cans cannelloni beans instead of using soaked beans. I added 1 cup chopped kale (to make it healthier) when adding the wine. And of course, the inspiration for this .... Instead of water, salt-free homemade chicken stock. Served with sprinkled parmesan on top. DELICIOUS. One of my new favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I have to agree with other reviewers - this was a good "starter" recipe. I added 2 cloves of garlic to the onions, as well as the thyme, pepper and salt that was suggested. I used 3 cups of veggie broth and an extra splash of wine. I also put in about 1.5 tsp of Kitchen Bouquet to give it a bit more color/flavor. I paired with a salad and warm, fresh rye bread and we really enjoyed. Thanks so much for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pause2shop.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairlee, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wilder, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Very bland even after adding veggie broth, garlic, and vinegar. I love quinoa but just not in this recipe, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hmihal
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is 5 star if you take the other's suggestions along with mine! I used a vegetarian vegetable stock and used a Sage-Rosemary-Thyme herb combo. I used Coconut Oil instead of canola oil because it is better to heat since it does not oxidize as much as other oil at high temperatures. Skinny Bitch taught me that. I added some liquid smoke at the end as well as salt an pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmihal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachycez
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I agree w/ the other reviewers that this recipe as written is a bit bland. Garlic and fresh ground pepper really help, I also added some finely chopped celery and red bell pepper, and served with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese. If I make this again, I'll cook it in vegetable broth instead of plain water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
An interesting combination of vegetables in this one, but it was nice and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This is not a bad jumping off point, but from the start I could see it would be a little on the bland side. I substituted chicken stock for the water (vegetable stock would work just as well if you want to keep it vegetarian)added a good sized grind of fresh pepper (I use the peppercorn mix of black, red, pink and white), a generous clove of fresh garlic, a pinch of thyme, sea salt instead of table salt for seasoning, and it was nearly perfect. Since my husband and I are not vegetarians I added a tablespoon of chopped bacon to add a little rich smoky flavor and it was great. A scant 1/4 tsp of liquid smoke would work for vegetarians. Soups are all about layers of flavors to me, and while this recipe was a good base it needed some help to get to where I wanted it to be. P.S. this is my first experiment with quinoa, and I will definitely be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I found the recipe as written a little bland. I used half broth and half water, and I would definitely substitute broth for the full amount of water next time. I would probably add some garlic at the beginning as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States