White Bean 'n' Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I like the simplicity of this soup. I added a few cubes of chicken bouillon, otherwise made it according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is a great bean soup for a cold evening meal. Just add some fresh made cornbread & you've got a hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
One of my favorite soups! I usually make after holidays when I have ham leftovers and then freeze extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
The kids smell this soup cooking and come running--everyone's favorite. I add a bit of chicken bouillon, too. Double the recipe if you want to really serve six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
My husband loooves this soup, he asks for it all the time. I tried spicing it up more, but it was too much. All you need is the taste of the beans, onions, and ham. It's a great soup and the only thing I would change is using a little bit of broth in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Great for a quick meal. My 7 yr old son can put it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINDIE1001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Even though I read the reviews saying this recipe needs more ingredients, I wanted to try it "as is" before deciding if it needs anything. I like simple recipes and if this soup is good without adding anything to it, then why add something? Each ingredient added just makes the meal that much more expensive. On the other hand, a meal's got to taste good. Anyway, I followed the recipe to the letter. I had one bowl of this soup and agreed with those who think this recipe leaves something to be desired. So my solution was to add a 15 oz can of crushed tomatoes and a teaspoon of dried parsley. Adding these 2 ingredients certainly improved the flavor of this soup. I may tweak this recipe quite a bit in the near future, but I can say that adding tomatoes and parsley was definitely a step in the right direction. I think I'll continue experimenting in this Italian vein and add garlic the next time I make this soup. My hope is that the soup would then be good enough to not merit any further improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was excellent!! I had a leftover ham on the bone so I cooked it in a pressure cooker until it was falling off the bone. Meanwhile I sauteed the veggies adding 2 ribs of celery and some garlic. Then I removed the bones and defatted the broth. Added the veggies to the ham broth and the beans and let it all simmer for a bit. I left out the salt as the ham made it plenty salty for my taste. When I make this again I will probably add one more can of beans. Served it with cornbread sticks and had a delicious, easy to prepare dinner. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This is a great fast soup, I used 3 cans beans 3 cups water 2 chicken bouillon cubes, added celery,3 Tbsp brown sugar, 1/4 cup cider vinegar and a few dashes of worcestershire. I love the zippy flavor that stuff adds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States