White Bean 'N' Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Not spicy, but good tasting and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
good seasoning, but try less beans and use canned; then more barley and zucchini instead of red pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
What a delicious low calorie soup! I had to use beef broth and dried parsley, but otherwise I didn't make any other changes. This will be in my regular rotation, thanks Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I found this soup recipe boring. I added some beef to give it a little "umph', but it still was lacking in flavor. I have many other soup recipes, that are far better than this one. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Like this a lot though I omitted the tomatoes. Reminded me of my mum's vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very good!! We added country ham, and used green peppers instead of red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was a very easy soup to make. The main reason I only gave it 4 stars is because I think it needs a little more "oomph" in the seasonings. I took the suggestion of one reviewer and added paprika, but I also added some dried Italian seasoning and used more garlic. I also used freshly diced tomatoes, omitted the celery and used more carrots. Overall a great starter recipe and one I will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Fabulous. I added a couple of spoonfuls of sour cream. This goes in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is a nice, mild soup that would taste great alongside some crunchy, french bread. I used 2 cups of dried great northern beans (soaked for 8 hours in cold water), subbed zucchini squash for red pepper and added a dash of paprika. I also used 8 cups of water with 4 chicken bouillon cubes for the broth. Next time I might add more barley and puree ~1/3 of the beans to give the soup more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
doubled the spices...my tummy's still smiling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States