White Bean 'N' Barley Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Not spicy, but good tasting and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
good seasoning, but try less beans and use canned; then more barley and zucchini instead of red pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
What a delicious low calorie soup! I had to use beef broth and dried parsley, but otherwise I didn't make any other changes. This will be in my regular rotation, thanks Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I found this soup recipe boring. I added some beef to give it a little "umph', but it still was lacking in flavor. I have many other soup recipes, that are far better than this one. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Like this a lot though I omitted the tomatoes. Reminded me of my mum's vegetable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very good!! We added country ham, and used green peppers instead of red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan J

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was a very easy soup to make. The main reason I only gave it 4 stars is because I think it needs a little more "oomph" in the seasonings. I took the suggestion of one reviewer and added paprika, but I also added some dried Italian seasoning and used more garlic. I also used freshly diced tomatoes, omitted the celery and used more carrots. Overall a great starter recipe and one I will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Fabulous. I added a couple of spoonfuls of sour cream. This goes in my file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is a nice, mild soup that would taste great alongside some crunchy, french bread. I used 2 cups of dried great northern beans (soaked for 8 hours in cold water), subbed zucchini squash for red pepper and added a dash of paprika. I also used 8 cups of water with 4 chicken bouillon cubes for the broth. Next time I might add more barley and puree ~1/3 of the beans to give the soup more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
doubled the spices...my tummy's still smiling!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States