White Bean Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I make an oil-free version that's very good. Use one can drained beans, one can undrained. Agree with other posters that more than 1-1/2 tsp lemon juice is probably plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Delicious dip! I followed the review and added less lemon juice. It definitely tasted more cohesive and smooth after letting the flavors blend in the fridge for 2 hours. I would suggest that before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Kirch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Wow. Wasn't expecting to love this! Used Northern Beans, a little more than 1/3 cup oil, it wasn't blending well, and only 1 lemon. Didn't have cilantro so I used 2 Tablespoons of dried parsley and a small palmful of cajun seasoning probably about 1 T). I love cilantro and will buy it for next time. I'm sure it will be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Wonderful summer dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I make this as a bean salad - just skip the food processor. It's a great side dish and I've had several requests for the recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Please don't be scared of the cilantro! I probably put more than the recipe asked for and it was fantastic. Such a tasty change to hummus. This is the type of recipe that you tweek to your tastes. I love garlic, cilantro and lemons so I added more than suggested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: St. Boniface, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Very economical and feeds many. We served it (doubled recipe) with pita bread and veggies and had a little left over after 50 people ate. I was asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! Not ONLY that, but easy, cheap, and versatile! I doubled. Used some with some lemon, some with hot crushed Chile peppers, and with and without cilantro! Cilantro won! Will not be without this at family gatherings again. Thank you All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti O'Gara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
As prepared according to directions, I found this bland (hence the three star rating, for the amount of tweaking required for my tastes). I followed tips from other members because it usually turns out better (1/2 lemon- juiced, 1 Tbsp chopped garlic, 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper & sub 2 TBSP chopped fresh italian parsley for the cilantro) but it was still kinda bland for me. I like A LOT of spice and flavor I guess. I doubled the recipe since I cooked too many beans for a soup I was making. After following the above suggestions, I added more lemon juice, more minced garlic, 1 tsp cumin, a healthy dash of cayenne peppers AND hot sauce. At this point I thought it was very tasty, but too watery/loose so I added 1/4 cup instant potato flakes to thicken... So, if you are a spicy and garlic fanatic like I am--maybe this will make the perfect version of this dip for you? I also saw a suggestion to thin this with chicken stocks for a soup and I think that would be good and I may try that since I have a large bowl full now. If you are watching your fat and calories, I think you could definitely cut back on the olive oil amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I love garlic, but I found this to be an overpowering amount. I doubt I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States