White Bean and Lamb Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This worked fine for us. We had leftover leg of lamb, so I cut up the meat and threw in the bone, letting it simmer for a couple hours, covered. We also used kale instead of spinach and parmesan instead of feta just because that was what we had. A pickled veg, like lemon, was nice on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealisticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I made this soup according to recipe, except that I used canned white beans, and I drained the meat after browning to elimate most of the grease. Also, I used a combination of beef broth & vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. And I too just added the spinach directly to the soup. It was great! We buy a butchered lamb every year and are always looking for tasty ground lamb recipes. This one definitely fit the bill and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Great with or without the wilted spinach. I never use dried oregano as I never have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Tis soup was outstanding! The only thing I changed was instead of ground lamb, I roasted a small leg of lam in garlic powder and ground pepper and chopped it up for the soup. Was incredibly good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is one of the first recipes that I tried from Allrecipes. I've been making this in my slow cooker for years. It's a friends and family favorite. I use canned great northern beans, cubed lamb shoulder, and I add raw baby spinach to the bowl before serving. My dad and boyfriend asked me to double the meat and bean content next time. I will report back with those results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Loved this! We did it with a few minor changes: 1) used leftover roasted leg of lamb (convenient!) and 2) without the tomatoes, since my husband can't have them, but just added more chicken broth. It was delicious! Staying on the regular winter menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was really good. I used left over roast leg of lamb (cubed) and kale instead of spinach (as spinach gets slimy when cooked and kale holds up well). It was very good, very easy and very economical. And it's an esay way to get some veggies in. Perfect for Fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This soup is one of our all-time favorites. Very savory and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Love this soup -- both hearty and delicious! The only thing I changed is that I used a couple of cans of great northern beans rather than going through the trouble of using dried beans. Oh -- I also used 2 lbs of lamb but that's not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FARMERSQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Wonderful soup, very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swanton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States