White Bean and Lamb Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This is incredibly yummy on a chilly day. There is no need to wilt the spinach separately. The soup is hot enough to just put the spinach right in. It will wilt on its own. This was fantastic. The feta and spinach make this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This was really great! I used 2 cans of navy beans instead of dried, and put everything in the slow cooker for 12 hours. The flavour is wonderful; quite a change from chicken or beef. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
This would get 6 stars if there was such a catagory. Short on time, I used 2 cans of Great Northern beans, and 1 3/4c crushed tomatoes. Also, placed the baby spinach in the bottom of the soup bowl, topped with hot soup Which wilted the spinach and added the feta on top. Can't get better than this. Thank you Hardt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
Absolutely fabulous...I used diced lamb chops in place of the ground lamb, and cooked until extremely tender. Fresh thyme was a huge plus...I also used fresh goat's milk feta cheese which added an amazing tangy flavor. Update 06/23/07: After 3 years, my husband and I count down the days until cold weather to make this soup. It is always great the first day, but gets better and better every time you re-heat it. The most important of aspect(s) of this recipe? Always use fresh garlic, herbs, and fresh spinach. You will not be disappointed. I always make a special trip to the 'natural' food store for the goats milk feta cheese also...pure heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Great base recipe, very flexible. Used a few substitutions --canned cannelini beans and a can of diced tomatoes. Also used kale instead of spinach. Browned the lamb, drained the fat and threw everything in the crockpot on high for 3 hours. Topped with goat cheese which melted into the soup completely and gave the broth a tanginess and creaminess that was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Loved this! We did it with a few minor changes: 1) used leftover roasted leg of lamb (convenient!) and 2) without the tomatoes, since my husband can't have them, but just added more chicken broth. It was delicious! Staying on the regular winter menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TinLizzy
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
5 stars with goat cheese used instead of feta without the cheese it would be only 2 0r 3 stars. I also cooked overnight in a slow cooker and after sorting and rising dried beans added them straight to sc w/o soaking 10 hours of slow cooking was enough. i also used tomato puree and all fresh herbs in their respective equivalents.i added spinach straight to the soup and its hot enough to wilt and simpler too. goat cheese adds an extra dimension and complements the lamb flavor exceedingly well and adds a tangy-ness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I found this soup really lacking in flavor. I used lean ground lamb. Maybe it needed the fat inorder for it to have flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I'm not keen on beans in soup so I subbed hominy for the beans and left out the feta on top. SO GOOD. This is such a colorful, delicious soup that is just amazing and so easy to put together. I've made this several times, and it always goes fast around my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This was so good! The only bad thing about it was I didn't have enough leftovers to last all week. Next time I will make a double batch. I left the feta out of my husband's bowl since he is a feta hater. I thought the feta tasted great in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States