White Bean and Lamb Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This is incredibly yummy on a chilly day. There is no need to wilt the spinach separately. The soup is hot enough to just put the spinach right in. It will wilt on its own. This was fantastic. The feta and spinach make this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
I'm not keen on beans in soup so I subbed hominy for the beans and left out the feta on top. SO GOOD. This is such a colorful, delicious soup that is just amazing and so easy to put together. I've made this several times, and it always goes fast around my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This was so good! The only bad thing about it was I didn't have enough leftovers to last all week. Next time I will make a double batch. I left the feta out of my husband's bowl since he is a feta hater. I thought the feta tasted great in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This soup was remarkably delicious. So flavorful! I did double the celery, carrots and onions, as I like chunkier soups. Also, I used lamb shoulders instead of ground lamb and the meat turned out wonderfully tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
So good and easy too! I don't have patience for beans so I just skipped the overnight soaking and bought the canned variety. I washed them thoroughly and tossed them in the pot after the tomatoes. Also I'm not too well-versed on beans so I had no idea what white Northern beans were so I just used white kidney beans. I don't really think the type of bean makes a difference because the soup was delicious anyways. Great recipe, goes well with a hunk of bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
This would get 6 stars if there was such a catagory. Short on time, I used 2 cans of Great Northern beans, and 1 3/4c crushed tomatoes. Also, placed the baby spinach in the bottom of the soup bowl, topped with hot soup Which wilted the spinach and added the feta on top. Can't get better than this. Thank you Hardt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
This is the very best Soup I have eaten OJT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coalville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
Absolutely fabulous...I used diced lamb chops in place of the ground lamb, and cooked until extremely tender. Fresh thyme was a huge plus...I also used fresh goat's milk feta cheese which added an amazing tangy flavor. Update 06/23/07: After 3 years, my husband and I count down the days until cold weather to make this soup. It is always great the first day, but gets better and better every time you re-heat it. The most important of aspect(s) of this recipe? Always use fresh garlic, herbs, and fresh spinach. You will not be disappointed. I always make a special trip to the 'natural' food store for the goats milk feta cheese also...pure heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This was really great! I used 2 cans of navy beans instead of dried, and put everything in the slow cooker for 12 hours. The flavour is wonderful; quite a change from chicken or beef. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
My DH and I loved this soup. Not my 10 yr old, but he's picky. I browned the lamb, drained and removed, added a chopped onion & carrots. Then added garlic and spices. (used celery seed/no celery on hand). Instead of tomatoes, I used a small can of V-8 juice; 3 cans of chicken broth. Also cheated and used a can of small white beans instead of soaking dry ones. Added frozen spinach leaves, put feta in the bottom of the bowl, and enjoyed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States