White Bean and Lamb Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
We didn't care for this. I cooked it in the crockpot, and it smelled fantastic. We had some really good quality feta, but it seemed like there was something "missing", in spite of the fact there were tons of ingredients. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Fantastic soup - perfect for a fall dinner (or lunch) with a glass of red wine and some crusty warm bread and butter. The feta cheese really makes this stand out and pairs so well with the lamb, if you don't like feta you could use a good parm, but I really recommend a good creamy feta. I added some white pepper, but otherwise excellent as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TinLizzy
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
5 stars with goat cheese used instead of feta without the cheese it would be only 2 0r 3 stars. I also cooked overnight in a slow cooker and after sorting and rising dried beans added them straight to sc w/o soaking 10 hours of slow cooking was enough. i also used tomato puree and all fresh herbs in their respective equivalents.i added spinach straight to the soup and its hot enough to wilt and simpler too. goat cheese adds an extra dimension and complements the lamb flavor exceedingly well and adds a tangy-ness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Great base recipe, very flexible. Used a few substitutions --canned cannelini beans and a can of diced tomatoes. Also used kale instead of spinach. Browned the lamb, drained the fat and threw everything in the crockpot on high for 3 hours. Topped with goat cheese which melted into the soup completely and gave the broth a tanginess and creaminess that was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Good combination of ingredients & very easy to make. I added half a can of beer just to give the chicken broth additional flavor. Turned out great! And very filling - unlike most soups. Excellent for a cold winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
WOW! The flavors in this are fantastic together ... the house smelled wonderful while it was cooking. Like another reviewer mentioned, it tastes even better after it's been reheated ... wilting the spinach in the bottom of the bowl with the hot soup was a great suggestion ... I ended up using sun dried tomato feta because that's all I had on hand ... This soup is amazing and will be made over and over again ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
We really quite enjoyed this soup. We just seasoned it at the table, rather than in the pot. We definitely should have used more lamb. We bought a 1-pound package, but did not scale the rest of the recipe. We also used maybe twice as much parsley just to use what we bought. The smell coming from the kitchen as this simmers is worth making it (assuming you like lamb). This will get repeat business in our kitchen this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This is a fragrant, delicious treat. The chopping is the most time-consuming part. We did the prep last night while cooking dinner, then let it simmer while we watched tv, then put containers in the fridge overnight. It reheats very nicely and makes for a spectacular lunch that made the rest of my office jealous! I did not use the feta and spinach garnish, but a toasted slice of a dark wheat bread went very nicely with the flavors in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misserin13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Excellent recipe, my husband loved this and he doesn't even like lamb. I suggest ommiting salt because it is salty enough on its own. I definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I found this soup really lacking in flavor. I used lean ground lamb. Maybe it needed the fat inorder for it to have flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States