White Bean and Artichoke Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2000
used canned beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
A perfect spring dinner accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
I made this for a potluck--it was a total hit! Everyone requested the recipe. Instead of vinegar I used lemon juice. I will always keep the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Wonderful bean salad! I prepared the recipe pretty much as written and, although I couldn't measure 1/4 ounce of chopped mint I used about 1/8 cup chopped, fresh mint. I used 2 cans of drained, white cannelini beans and I used the whole can of artichoke hearts. It was thoroughly enjoyed by all. It tasted fresh and refreshing. Next time I may add slivered Kalamata olives instead of ripe olives, hmm...and maybe some crumbled feta on top, too. A family member suggested I toss in some diced cucumber, too. Nice recipe, Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. The mint and parsley really make this a flavorful salad. I used kidney beans in addition to the white beans for some color. This salad is best when refrigerated overnight to let the flavors meld. Try it--you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I read this recipe a few days ago and didn't actually refer back to it today when I prepared the salad. I used the basic idea and adjusted the ingredient amounts to suit my tastes. I drained and rinsed both the beans and the artichokes (to reduce sodium). I subbed diced English cucumber for the green pepper and lemon juice for the vinegar. I omitted the mint, but used fresh parsley and basil. I made less dressing, also...probably ony about a tablespoon of olive oil and a little less lemon juice. Still, my salad was very tasty. I will make this again, even just for myself for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This salad was very refreshing and light tasting. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I gave this 3 stars for the idea but really it was a 2 for flavor. I loved this idea for the salad - we eat a lot of black bean and corn salads and this sounded like a great change but the red wine vinegar was aweful in this. Too strong and way too much oil. Maybe use Italian Dressing next time?? Dunno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Definitely better the next day, but I knew that so made it a day ahead of when I wanted to serve it. I added 1/3 cup of hot banana peppers to it for a little more sing. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
We loved this! Definitely is better after it sits in the frig for a while. Add tuna for a great lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States