White Bean and Artichoke Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This isn't bad with some tinkering, but it is not nearly as tasty nor as interesting as I thought it would be when I chose this recipe. I found a can of cannellini beans was 1-1/2 cups, which worked out perfectly to cut the recipe in half. I used the ingredients and measurements merely as a guide, tailoring both to suit me. For instance, I used red bell pepper rather than green, knowing it would add some color. Fresh mint, while I have plenty of it, did not appeal to me at all here, so in its place I substituted arugula. I used the olive oil and vinegar sparingly, in my preferred ratio of 3:1 oil to vinegar. I don't necessarily believe that garlic needs to be added to everything to make it taste better, but I do believe in this instance it might have been a good addition. I also used fresh basil rather than dried. Still, it was nothing special even though it looked pretty. With so many lovely and (for the most part) compatible ingredients, I expected this to be much more than just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Really good salad when chilled overnight. A wonderful dish for the hot summer days here in the south...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
so refreshing! great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bitola, Pelagonia, Macedonia
Living In: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was good, added fresh squeezed lemon juice. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Awesome! I left out the olives though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I loved this. So did my kids. I didn't really measure anything. Just estimated. It is fantastic and bursting with flavor. It is wonderful as is, but with some imagination you could make several variations- adding tomatoes, pasta, etc. I plan on making this for my next cookout. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I loved this bean salad and got many compliments on it when I took it to a cookout for Father's Day. I used 2 cans of cannellini beans and 1 can of dark kidney beans for color. I omitted the fresh mint since I didn't have any and substituted green onions for the red. I also used a whole jar of marinated artichokes which in my opinion was needed since I love them! Even after adding the kidney beans I didn't need to increase the dressing... there was still plenty. I probably could have decreased the amount of EVOO to cut calories but didn't this time. This recipe is definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
A huge hit at dinner! Changes: used a whole can of artichoke hearts; couldn't find white beans (that's island life) so I used black-eyed peas and pinto beans; green onion instead of red; lemon juice instead of red wine vinegar; cut down on the olive oil. Next time I'll use fresh basil and definitely let it sit overnight. Green pepper is a must as it adds great crunch. Really fresh, light and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Cold bean salad, excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Pretty good. I made it the night before so it had a little time to sit. I made this because I had two extra cans of cannellini beans sitting in my pantry. It was a great way to use the beans. I made this as a side item to go with the Parmesan Orange Roughy. It was a great meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States