White Bean and Artichoke Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I brought this to a get-together of friends and everyone loved it. I can never leave well-enough alone so I modified the recipe a little. Used one 15 oz can of Cannellini Beans and 15 oz of Kidney Beans. Used 3 small jars of marinated artichoke hearts, and used the marinade in place of the olive oil. Used Kalamara olives in place of black. Used green onion in place of red, and added some cucumber. Next time I'll cut the vinegar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Really enjoyed this one! Used small white beans, red pepper, marinated artichoke hearts (which really are so much more flavorful), also used some of the marinade for the dressing. I did use dried herbs since I had no fresh parsely, and I omitted the mint which I thought wouldn't go with these flavors. Just used a drizzle of olive oil instead of 1/3c and drizzled the red wine vinegar as well. That mixed with some of the artichoke marinade...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
didnt try it but just for those that it makes a difference to: sephardic custom is to eat beans on passover, ashkenazic custom is not to. but dont worry im going to try this anyway before passover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Delicious and refreshing salad! Made this for Passover this year and it was a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Perfect. Some fresh chopped baby spinach adds another great green component to this dish. i used cannelloni and garbanzo beans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I left out the mint and used balsamic vinegar. Good but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
One of my absolute favorites! I use Canellini, white and kidney beans and add diced cucumber. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This is a very refreshing salad. It will be part of my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Jimellisa: This is a delicious recipe. H o w e v e r, this is most definitely never for passover!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Haber Fogel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This isn't bad with some tinkering, but it is not nearly as tasty nor as interesting as I thought it would be when I chose this recipe. I found a can of cannellini beans was 1-1/2 cups, which worked out perfectly to cut the recipe in half. I used the ingredients and measurements merely as a guide, tailoring both to suit me. For instance, I used red bell pepper rather than green, knowing it would add some color. Fresh mint, while I have plenty of it, did not appeal to me at all here, so in its place I substituted arugula. I used the olive oil and vinegar sparingly, in my preferred ratio of 3:1 oil to vinegar. I don't necessarily believe that garlic needs to be added to everything to make it taste better, but I do believe in this instance it might have been a good addition. I also used fresh basil rather than dried. Still, it was nothing special even though it looked pretty. With so many lovely and (for the most part) compatible ingredients, I expected this to be much more than just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States