White Bean and Artichoke Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2000
used canned beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
A perfect spring dinner accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
I made this for a potluck--it was a total hit! Everyone requested the recipe. Instead of vinegar I used lemon juice. I will always keep the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Wonderful bean salad! I prepared the recipe pretty much as written and, although I couldn't measure 1/4 ounce of chopped mint I used about 1/8 cup chopped, fresh mint. I used 2 cans of drained, white cannelini beans and I used the whole can of artichoke hearts. It was thoroughly enjoyed by all. It tasted fresh and refreshing. Next time I may add slivered Kalamata olives instead of ripe olives, hmm...and maybe some crumbled feta on top, too. A family member suggested I toss in some diced cucumber, too. Nice recipe, Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe. The mint and parsley really make this a flavorful salad. I used kidney beans in addition to the white beans for some color. This salad is best when refrigerated overnight to let the flavors meld. Try it--you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
I read this recipe a few days ago and didn't actually refer back to it today when I prepared the salad. I used the basic idea and adjusted the ingredient amounts to suit my tastes. I drained and rinsed both the beans and the artichokes (to reduce sodium). I subbed diced English cucumber for the green pepper and lemon juice for the vinegar. I omitted the mint, but used fresh parsley and basil. I made less dressing, also...probably ony about a tablespoon of olive oil and a little less lemon juice. Still, my salad was very tasty. I will make this again, even just for myself for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This salad was very refreshing and light tasting. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I gave this 3 stars for the idea but really it was a 2 for flavor. I loved this idea for the salad - we eat a lot of black bean and corn salads and this sounded like a great change but the red wine vinegar was aweful in this. Too strong and way too much oil. Maybe use Italian Dressing next time?? Dunno
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
Definitely better the next day, but I knew that so made it a day ahead of when I wanted to serve it. I added 1/3 cup of hot banana peppers to it for a little more sing. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
We loved this! Definitely is better after it sits in the frig for a while. Add tuna for a great lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States