White BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Dublinireland05, why did you give this recipe only one star when no one but your brother-in-law had the "nerve" to even try it? Probably says more about your cooking than the sauce. I thought it was great. I did not have any mayo so I substituted with ketchup. I added a little horseradish and some liquid smoke as others suggested and it turned out great. Why do they call it "White" sauce? Anyway, I put it on chicken and ribs. I also tried it as a salad dressing and a veggie dip as did other, but I can't say that I like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
My mom asks for this every time i smoke chickens
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This sauce came out gross. I added several other seasonings and a splash of steak sauce to it and rescued it as a tangy dip. I'd be offended if someone served this on my bbq....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This has topped my list of BBQ sauces. LOVE this sauce and use it as my main sauce on grilled chicken. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I've never had the original in Alabama. All I can say is, as a lover of BBQ sauce, this is really unique and good. It's a new staple in my BBQ sauce rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
i haven't made this recipe yet Ive been looking for white bbq sauces since i saw it on the food network they say white bbq sauce is best for bird meat and burgers and a different recipe i saw for it that got 5 stars included the exact same everything but also had a tbs of hoarse radish and a clove of garlic and a tsp of ground clove i will be making this minus all the salt :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I made this exactly as written, but my brother in law was the only person brave enough to taste it. He said it was "ok" and nobody else would go near it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This came out very thin although it sat for over a day. My husband added horseradish, but overall, we did not care for it. We love it in a local restaurant, but this really did not compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
My husband is from Alabama and said he missed this this little bit of home, so i came to find a recipe for it- - He loves it, so far we have used it on pork chops, chicken, and ribs. Its great on everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Market, Indiana, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I too am from Decatur, Al and grew up with white sauce being the number one choice for bbq. I go to big bob's (which was on good eats on the food network) at least once a week and this sauce is not exactly like theirs but pretty similar. If anybody wants to try some of their sauce they sell it on their website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States