White and Wild Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I thought this recipe was great. I didn't think it was bland at all. Rice traditionally isn't a grain that needs extra flavor, in my opinion. The only changes I would make are to add salt and pepper. I also use vegetable or chicken broth interchangeably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Awesome - I used chicken broth and it was really good. also did 3/4C wild rice and 3/4C white rice. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Like some others I think this is a very very bland dish. I even added extra garlic salt and pepper and it was still bland. If you are not one to experiment with flavora and diff herbs and spices to give it flavor this is not for you. Although if you are looking for a rice dish to possibly put a sauce on or something of that kind this is it. Oh yes and I wouldn't reccommend dobling this recipe as this makes a ton. I will check back to see what others came up with with regards to brining this dish more flavor. Thanx for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I loved this recipe. I used a boxed white and wild rice that came with a spice packet, as well as the other ingredients listed here. It turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was very good! The combination of white & wild rice made for a really great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dulce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Amazing! It smelled so wonderful while cooking and tasted even better once it was done. It was a perfect side item for rosemary lamb chops in a balsamic reduction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I used a brown/wild rice blend for this dish and toasted the rice with the onions and garlic. I added a little rosemary as well, but it was still very bland. However, this worked well as I served it under Grilled Adobo Chicken and drizzled with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Excellent rice, everyone enjoyed this one. I put all the vegetables in food processor to make it faster and really get it chopped up. 1-2-3 it was very easy to make, and got requests to have it again. Great flavor. >^..^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Hi this was an excelent choice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I love this savory pilaf! It went great with the Cornish game hens I served for Easter dinner. I would have given this 5 stars, but I had to doctor it slightly. The chopped veggies added color and rounded out the texture and flavor. (I chopped up some mushrooms along with the carrots, celery, and onion.) Also, I used chicken broth as per other suggestions. I knew it would be a little too bland, especially from what other reviewers said, so I added 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp dried tarragon, 1/4 tsp. dried thyme, a few dashes of cumin, and a few grinds from my pepper mill. I'll be making this again--a hearty, satisfying, versatile side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States