White Almond Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is a GREAT cake that originates from Rebecca Sutterby and as short is called the WASC. I recommend it to all. You can easily change out the white cake mix and almond flavoring and flavor it to your liking (Lemon cake mix w/ vanilla flavoring.. etc.). I also use flavored coffee creamer (liquid version) opposed to water and sometimes yogurt instead of sour cream (in coordinating flavor). I also add 1/2 a packet of pudding mix to make it super moist(instant, dry). Also it does NOT matter if the cake mix already 'has pudding' in it. That is simply a marketing technique. I prefer BC white cake mix, but yellow I prefer DH. Make sure you sift both. The resulting cake will be pretty dense (and SUPER MOIST) in comparison to a typical box cake(it's supposed to be a hybrid scratch cake)and sturdy enough to hold fondant. If you are carving the cake, omit the pudding packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
551 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hollywood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I LOVE this recipe. I make wedding cakes from my home and this is one of my go to recipes. It's a great base recipe that I use adding flavorings and extracts. The most popular one so far is the original recipe, but with vanilla bean along with the almond, and then raspberry preserves whipped with buttercream filling. I also throw in lemon zest and juice (omitting the almond) and orange zest and juice with a honey simple syrup brushed on the baked and cooled cake. This is my favorite cake recipe, great texture, crumb, very moist, but holds up when handling it to make larger wedding cakes. And holds Marshmallow Fondant (found on this site) beautifully. Thank you so so so much for sharing with us!! *** Just an update.*** I know several people wonder if this can adapted to a choc cake. I have done this several times now. Here's what I do: I use Duncan Hines Dark Choc Fudge. Instead of 1c flour i use 2/3c flour and 1/3 cocoa powder. I use Ghirardelli. It comes out wonderful. Hope this helps !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
521 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Baity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harvard, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is an absolute keeper. The best white moist cake I have ever tasted. I used a whipped icing and filled layers with pineapple. .I am thinking the next one should have strawberry layers, then trying a lemon cake mix with pineapple the next time. I made this in 3 round cake layers and it took about 38 minutes to bake. So good, don't look any further. This is better than the most expensive cakes I have had at weddings. The secret to a light cake is to mix as directed but add the whipped egg whites to the batter the last minute not with the other ingredients, otherwise, you will have a denser cake, not a light one. Absolutely worthwhile. Been baking over 38 years and this is the best white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
389 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This cake is perfection! I have made a lot of cakes and this one really hits the spot. You must try this to believe how good it is. I made this for my husband's 30th birthday party and everyone loved it. This is way better than some of the cakes I've ordered from bakeries. Definitely try this and follow exactly, I wouldn't add anything. I frosted with a simple vanilla almond buttercream icing, 3 c. confectionary sugar, 1/3 c. butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp. almond extract and 1-2 Tbsp. milk. Make sure to read the recipe correctly to use the right size pan. I read too fast and used a 7x11 inch pan and it came out perfectly but very high and took forever to bake at 325. I think a 9x13 would be fine also. thank you CUPYCAKESMURF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
My daughter is getting married in Oct.I'm making the cake for their reception so I made some small samples of different cakes, this is the one she picked. Everyone loved this cake. Simply the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. It's moist and flavourful. I doubled the recipe to make one 6"x3" and one 10"x3" layer for two tiered wedding cake. I filled the bottom with lemon curd and the top with raspberry jam and they both tasted awesome. It holds up well to fondant too. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monty
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I did make some changes - I love almond, but I was making this as cupcakes for a group of 1, 2, and 4 year olds, so I left out the almond extract and doubled the vanilla. I didn't have enough sour cream and used about 2.5 oz of softened cream cheese to make up the difference and get to 1 cup. Also, I added about 1 cup of melted semisweet chocolate to 3 cups of the batter, and spooned some of each batter into the liners to make "half and halfs." I got 24 generously filled cupcakes and one 8" round cake. I remember hoping that they were worth all the effort. Wow - they are AMAZING. I am definitely a frosting fan, but I could fully enjoy this cake with nothing on it at all. It's perfectly sweet, very moist, somehow dense and light at the same time - and the flavor is wonderful. This recipe is definitely in my "go-to" collection now. Absolutely yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This cake was probably the best I've ever made!!!! Super moist and rised very well. I added a package of vanilla pudding, that was the only thing I did extra, and made in 2 8 inch pans, excellent!!!! this recipe is defenitely a keeper!!!! Frosted with the professional buttercream icing recipe from this website. YUM!! update: made this cake 3 times now...all amazing....love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
I did not like the crumb of this cake, at all, it is way too fine, almost like a dense angel food cake, but very flmsy and falling apart. I have been baking for over 50 years, so I know I little. This sounded so good! I did as one reviewer said and added 1/2 package of instant pudding, that may have been a mistake. I will try it again sometime with no pudding, it may have been a mistake on my part since many cake mixes already have some sort of pudding in them to make them moist. Perhaps the brand of cake mix makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RebeccaSutterby
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
The baking time listed is not accurate. Pretty much any size cake (even a little 6" round) will take a minimum of 45 minutes. Most pan sizes will take roughly 1 hour. Watch for a tiny hairline crack around the edge where the cake has just begun to release from the pan. In some recipes, that would be "over-done", but the sour cream in this recipe makes the cake shrink slightly more than normal. The exact moment of center done-ness usually coordinates with the appearance of that hairline crack. Also, with the new, smaller 15oz Betty Crocker boxes (not cool, Betty!), you'll need to reduce the water to 1 cup + 2 Tblsp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 448) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States