White Almond Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
The only thing I did different was use 3 whole eggs in place of the egg whites, and made into cupcakes (makes about 28 - I baked at 350 for about 21 minutes). Frosted with the Smooth Buttercream Frosting recipe from this website(added scant 1/2 tsp. almond flavoring to the frosting). These are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Great recipe. I made as cupcakes and it was perfect. I have made as whoopie pies, and it wasn't so great--the ultimate 'cake' was too moist for whoopie pies. They stuck to the plate I served them on. I tried cooking the next batch longer, and same result. I will stick with these as cupcakes or cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCPMFAN60103

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
(UPDATE 5/10/2014 made this cake again added coconut milk in place of water and added about 1 cup of coconut to the batter then after cake came out of the oven I poked holes in it poured coconut cream over the top and frosted it whip homemade whipped cream! Delicious!!)10+ stars! Supurb!!! This cake was so moist and flavorful!! if your looking for a light and fluffy cake then this recope is Not for you!I loved the texture! It almost reminds me of a very moist pound cake Delish!! it doesnt get any easier then this . this cake is the Bomb!!! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
yes I tried it..I doubled it and added stick of soft butter and 2 tsp vanilla instead of almond flavoring. I also added two whole eggs and beat in three egg whites at the last.It was delicious! For Christmas I Frosted with homemade buttercream icing and decorated it with white chocolate candies and little meringue kisses on top. Oh, I baked it in a tube pan and made a few tiny cupcakes out of excess batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Yum! I served this at my hubby's b'day party and it was a huge hit. I ran out of regular flour so I used whole wheat pastry flour to replace the cup of flour it asks for. It still worked out well and tasted great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Love this cake! I added 2 tsp of almond flavoring instead of vanilla to cake. I also used milk 1 1/3 instead of water and a stick of butter. Mine was sooooooooooo. good! For the icing I used 1 box conf. sugar, stick of butter, 1 tsp almond flavoring, 1 tsp vanilla flavoring and 4 T of whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Perfect cake, so moist and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This is the first try for us altering a white cake mix! I have to say we were amazed at how wonderful and tasty the cake turned out! I have 5 different birthday cakes to make this weekend... and it's also going to be my go to recipe from here on in! Flavorful and moist....the one I made today, my sister in law and family loved it!! Except for eliminating the almond flavoring and opting to use all vanilla, we followed recipe to the T... I'm going to experiment tomorrow, using milk instead of water, going to sift the cake mix and flour. I baked it in a 9x13 pan, made the perfect sized cake!It does take a little while to bake it at 325, at least 40 to 45 minutes for me. Decorated it with my regular decorator frosting recipe. Thank you thank you Thank you for this recipe! LOVE IT! And it does NOT taste like a boxed cake mix.. NO WAY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This is a great recipe that's foolproof and comes together very quickly. I used only 1/2 a teaspoon of vanilla as I wanted more of the almond flavour to come through. Use real almond and vanilla if you can. The cake/cupcakes don't brown very much in the oven, so be careful not to overbake if you're looking for brown tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winnipegkaty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
One of my favorite cake recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States