White Almond Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I make lots of cakes and wanted to like this recipe but didn't. I think a plain white cake mix would have been better. The cake tasted like flour and the texture was "gummy" for lack of a better word. It took longer to bake than mentioned....maybe due to the lower oven temp. of 325 degrees instead of 350. If making this cake for a special occasion, please test this cake out and make sure you like it before your special day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I made this recipe into cupcakes. they turned out gummy, the texture wasn't appealing at all. i followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
It was a good cake but not as amazing as I expected after reading a lot of reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Wonderful cake recipe! Loved the texture- dense but very moist and tender. Came out of the pans like a dream and held up well to stacking for a triple layer cake. I'll never use any other recipe for white cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
So dissapointing.This was oe different than if I made a regular cake from the box. Expected a better taste and texture. Wont make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
The oven temp and bake time did not work for me. After 25 minutes the cake was still very wet. I upped the temp to 350* and baked another 20 minutes. It was great, delicious, moist, and dense as described. Just like the white cakes I love at weddings I will make again Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Awesome recipe-seriously the best cake I've ever made! Thank you also to the reviewer who mentioned that the cake mixes are smaller (15 oz) than this recipe called for-I reduced water to 1 cup and I never would have noticed on the package OR if I had, wouldn't have known what to do about it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Omg, omg, omg... Exactly what my friend said these were. Thanks for making me tubby!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindylouwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
WOWSA! Made this and realized I left out the extra cup of sugar so made the hubby and teenager try it first ... and WOW ... they LOVED it ... must admit it was super delicious ... took it to work and it disappeared ... going to use it in cupcakes soon. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States