White Almond Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I love love love this recipe! The cake holds up well to decorating and tastes very light! My only problem is that 18.25 oz boxes of cake mix can no longer be found! I try to adjust the recipe a bit, but I get varying results depending on brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I baked 2 different recipe using cake box mix to compare. My daughter liked this one best so we decided to use this recipe for her upcoming bday party. We thought it was better the next day. I'm not a fan of almond extract so I used vanilla instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
GREAT recipe. I used it exactly as is except used doubled the almond extract. I also used a "moist" cake box mix. I used pilsbury cream cheese icing thinly iced. The cake was completely gone at the end of the birthday party - 6 adults and one picky 9 year old who loved it! It did take about 45 minutes, not the recommended 25 as listed on the recipe. Oh...I also used a 9x13...UPDATE: just made this for a second time and did the same as above but added sliced almonds to the top of the icing and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennmarie25

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I've made this cake twice & have had sooooooooo many compliments on it. I used Pillsbury Moist Supreme Classic White cake mix as the base. In the butter cream frosting, I add 1/4 tsp Fiori di sicilia (from King Arthur Flour Co) and the combination with the almond & vanilla extracts in the cake is outstanding. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachthreads

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is the BEST white cake recipe. I use boiling water when it calls for water and take it out like RIGHT when a toothpick comes out clean and its the biggest hit every time I serve it. I frost it with home made buttercream frosting with a smidge of almond in it. THE BOMB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Love the recipe! I made this cake twice in two days. The first cake was the original recipe and it came out perfect, I did bake it for 45 min. I. Had to try this base with chocolate cake mix, and I used devils food DH brand, and I used 3/4 C. Flour and 1/4 cup of cocoa . It baked beautifully..awesome flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This is THE BEST. Seriously my weakness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I haven't tried this particular recipe with sour cream but we love almond flavored cake.I always made mine with a boxed plain white cake mix made according to the directions then added vanilla and almond extract and frosted it with chocolate butter cream frosting. It would never last in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by britt
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I made a 4 tier wedding cake with this recipe using Duncan Hines 16.5 oz white cake mix (4 boxes). I froze the layers 3 days prior; heavily wrapped in plastic wrap, then foil. They were stacked, dowelled, and frosted right out of the freezer a few hours before the wedding (and decorated with my pre-made frozen buttercream flowers). I transported the ready cake one hour to it's destination; where it was cut shortly after. Guests from across the floor were giving me two 'thumbs up', they were going up for seconds and some thirds. Many asked for the recipe and told me it was "the best cake" they had "ever tasted". This is the first wedding cake I've made and will never use another recipe. It's a major ego-booster :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I recently made his cake for my daughter's graduation party, and everyone loved it! Since I needed to make a sheet cake, I did alter the recipe just a little so it would raise appropriately. I added a teaspoon of baking soda into the sour cream, and let it expand a bit, then just gently folded in the baking soda-sour cream mixture last, after all other ingredients were mixed. I also added one extra teaspoon of vanilla and eliminated the almond extract. This cake was super moist and delicious! I frosted it with a simple whipped butter cream frosting smoothed flat so that I could decorate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bogue, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 462) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States