White Almond Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by bamaboy35209
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Must try this. Best cake I have ever made. Like many others I did not want an almond cake so I doubled the vanilla and omitted the almond extract. I also used two whole eggs instead of the egg whites nod it worked perfectly. I made a 12" x 3" layer cake and it was very sturdy and easy to work with. It also keeps well with people raving about the cake days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Absolutely delicious!! Everyone RAVED that it was better than some professional wedding cakes. They went NUTs over it!!! Here are a few things that I changed per other reviewers.... I did one full white box and a little bit less than 1/2 c. of another box. 3 full eggs, 2 tsp of almond, milk and then followed everything else on the ing list. Then I did a raspberry puree for in between the cakes. Raspberry jam, 1/2 box of raspberry gelatin, and then 1 sm box of mashed raspberries. Made homemade buttercream with almond.....DELICIOUS!!! It is so moist, but perfectly dense to hold up to the frostings. YUM! Weill absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I always receive compliments when I make this cake. I add 2 cups of crushed Oreos to make a cookies and cream cake, and it is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Total keeper! I've made it several times and get rave reviews each and every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
have to try this, i am looking for cake recipes that are dense, i want a cake that one can just pick up and eat with their fingers without coming apart, as well looking for recipes that i can add flavors to, can you do that with this cake? Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty Hetheriton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
The first time I made this cake, about a year ago, it was fantastic. It was moist, with a fine dense crumb. The last 3 times I've made it, it just do sent come out right. This most recent try I used Duncan Hines white cake mix. I do see on the box it is now 16.25 instead of 18.25. Mb that makes a big difference. This time the texture was completely off. It was not dense, it was semi dry and tasted more like an angel food cake. It also had holes in it throughout. Nothing at all like the first try. So I can see how this cake is getting so many differing reviews. So I will try next attempt with Betty crocker or Pillsbury and adjust liquid to the smaller amt in box mix. BTW, the first time I followed recipe to a tee. I'm also going to see if I can find the site I originally found this recipe and make sure I'm not forgetting anything. Very frustrating, because the 1st time was awesome, and I just can't seem to get same results. I will update this after I have experimented using different brands of cake mixes. Hope I can fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I tried it, but didn't have almond extract, so that may have affected the outcome. I don't find it to have much flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My testers loved it! I think it's a bit too sweet and may cut back on the sugar next time it's made just for us. I have used all vanilla for those who don't care for almond flavor and I have also toned down the almond by using less. Turns out great every time. Recently separated batter in two parts and added 1/3 cup of cocoa powder to make half chocolate-half vanilla...YUM. Thank you for posting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Omg. My hubby's favorite cake. I don't think I can bake a different cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy Fl.
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Made this as a practice for a wedding cake I have coming up soon, the bride wants white cake. Super easy, I had no problems with the cake mix being less than 18.25 ounces (used Duncan hines about 16 oz). Baked beautifully and holds up great. Definitely cut the almond extract in about half, even though I do like it and the cake was perfect. Still got a great almond flavor without being overpowering. Great texture, this is my new go to white cake! P.s. My pic is the single layer with chocolate frosting! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 461) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States