Whiskey Slush Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This is a great recipe! I have also added a 46 oz can of pineapple juice. I also added one more cup of Whiskey to this as the added pineapple jusce will make it want to freeze harder. You want to be able to scoop it out and only add a little ginger ale or lemon lime carbonated type beverage. I keep it in the freezer all summer and use it when ever I want a nice cold punch like drink. If you do not add the tea it will not taste the same, so don't forget the tea. I steep 6 tea bags in two cups of very hot water. This makes a good and strong tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwenevere

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walden, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I love this stuff! It is so refreshing on a summer day! The only changes to this recipe is I used a 12 oz. can of orange juice and the recipe I used was a 1/2 gal. of bourbon whiskey. It makes it strong but the lemon-lime soda covers up the strongness and it packs an extra punch! This one batch is HUGE so make it for a party/get together or if you want it for the freezer for all summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
very good slush, NO extra sugar is needed, all the juice concentrate is plenty sweet (and I like sweet cocktails). I'm not sure I cared for the orange juice flavor in this, I think next time (there will be one!) I may try limade and lemonade combined. I'll report back! *****UPDATE: tastes very good with limade instead of Orange juice concentrate. I love this recipe!***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
We love this slush recipe I had it for years and lost it I was so happy to find it Thank you Bea you saved my life
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Delightful party beverage!! This is the one everybody asks if I plan to make! I have to make a double batch (I mix and freeze it in the top of my rubbermaid cake keeper and it fits perfectly) for parties and it is ALWAYS all gone by the end of the evening. I prefer the ginger ale, but the sprite will do in a pinch. I agree with an earlier poster--you will definitely need more than one liter of the soda. We might go through 3-4 two-liters for a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This recipe is also great using Peach Schnapps. Just add a large bottle in lieu of the whiskey and use 7Up instead of ginger ale. For those who don't like whiskey it's a nice, refreshing alternative for a hot summer day. Oh, and I always used green tea instead of black tea but I don't think it really matters what kind of tea you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Very good on a warm summer evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes. I have been making it for years and always have it in my freezer during the summer. I also add maraschino cherries, plus some of the juice. I use Amaretto instead of whiskey, making it more like an Amaretto slush. Is much smoother. I will try limeade next time. Never thought of that. And it's wonderful with Fresca or Sprite, instead of Ginger Ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I have this same recipe and been making this for about 4 years. It's wonderful. You can use 7up if desired or any other lemon-lime soda. Keep a tub in the freezer for those unexpected drop-ins. You can offer them a beer or one of these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
My family has been using this recipe for years as well. We use 4 tea bags in 2 cups of water and 2 cups of sugar dissolved in the 7 cups of water. I have swiched it up once in a while with different juices. I always use the lemonade but experiment with different juice. My favorite is Cranberry juice with orange spice tea and I use vodka instead of whiskey. During the holidays I try and find cranberry ginger ale instead of lemon-lime soda or you could use a sour soda like 50-50 or squirt. In the summer I have also used a citrus punch juice and a citrus vodka. There are soooo many possibilities with this recipe!! Have fun and enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntiefeather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Whiskey Cocktail

See how to make the perfect cold-weather cocktail.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States