Whiskey-Marinated Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I am the author of this recipe, but I need reviewers (users) to know that you can combine these same ingredients (minus the steaks) and cook over low medium heat for 10 minutes. Add 1 tablesspoon cornstarch to thicken. Simmer an additional 4 minutes. Use as a sauce to dip steaks in while eating! OR~ I have never done it but it was suggested to me to boil the marinade that is left over for same purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I loved, loved loved this marinade. No need for steak sauce! Because I was only marinating 4 steaks & used the zip-lock bag method, I halved all of the liquid, except the whiskey! I subbed beef broth for the water, and OJ instead of pineapple. Just a few splashes of smoke. A recipe well done, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
OMG! This stuff is great. I used Jack Daniels for the whisky and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. It makes a lot of marinade. We used NY strip steaks that were about 1 1/2" thick. We marinated and cooked 4 steaks However, I think this makes enough marinade for 6 or may 8 steaks. I did marinate for right at 24 hours. The lady at the liquor store suggested that I should also try to marinate veggies in this. But, a word of caution from her, "only marinate for about 15 - 20 minutes!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
i used worcestershire sauce instead of teriyaki sauce used 2/3 Jack Daniels. insead of rib-eye's i used 4 16 ounce t-bones and poke holes in the steacks and let them marinade for little over 24 hours. Will use this recipe agian over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boron, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This marinade was unbelievable! The steaks came out so juicy and full of flavour. At first, I was concerned as a few reviewers mentioned the whiskey taste was way too strong (and I hate whiskey). I let it marinate for 24 hours and when I took it out of the fridge, I could really smell it (which further scared me)! But after barbequing it... WOW, it tasted amazing. The only change I made was replacing pineapple juice for orange (that's all I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
What an excellent marinade! I used chicken stock instead of water, and used 3/4 cup of whiskey on accident! I used minced ginger instead of the teriyaki sauce, and added a bit more brown sugar. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamperedVictoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bear River City, Utah, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I followed the recipie exactly and this is an awesome marinade! Loved this. My steak was flavorful and ahhhmazing! Thanks Victoria I really enjoyed this and will be using this recipie often! What I do is make up a batch of this marinade and place each steak in a freezer bag with this marinade, then pop in the freezer. When ready to have one just take it out of the freezer and thaw. Something about thawing out the meat while in the marinade really pulls it into the meat. I do this with any of the steak marinades that I use. This way I can have a great steak anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
OMG! So awesome! I do not like whiskey and was pleasntly surprised at the great flavor of the steaks. I used OJ in place of the pineapple juice, doubled the garlic (we love garlic), and used onion soup mix in place of the minced onions. We will definately make this recipie again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by photomommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
FANTASTIC!!! This was really good, but I did make a few minor changes to it just for my preferences in the steak department. I LOVE marinating, so I let the steak marinate for a really long time. I tripled the amount of whiskey (for my benefits =]) and then added two 8 oz cartons of buttermilk and then about a cup of milk. I added 6 TBSP of salt and 5 bushles of parsley. As you can see, I was cooking for a lot of people. I then took 2 tomatoes and held them over the steak and squeased them in my fists. WOW it was so goooood. Finally I cooked it for only 2 minutes on each side and left it really really rare, so much that blood literally was squirting when I cut into my piece. DELISHHH! Try all of my changes and you will be amazed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Love

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Myself nor the rest of my family (4 of us) liked this recipe. It was like an Asian style steak dumped in whiskey.The liquid smoke didn't go with the soy or teryaki flavor at all.That is mainly used with barbecue, though I can appreciate trying knew things. With little tastes of the rest of the ingredients, mainly all that was tasted was the whiskey. Maybe you have to be a whiskey lover to enjoy this. I was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondemamaof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lanark, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States