Whiskey-Marinated Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
OMG! This stuff is great. I used Jack Daniels for the whisky and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. It makes a lot of marinade. We used NY strip steaks that were about 1 1/2" thick. We marinated and cooked 4 steaks However, I think this makes enough marinade for 6 or may 8 steaks. I did marinate for right at 24 hours. The lady at the liquor store suggested that I should also try to marinate veggies in this. But, a word of caution from her, "only marinate for about 15 - 20 minutes!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASTCLAIR1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I loved, loved loved this marinade. No need for steak sauce! Because I was only marinating 4 steaks & used the zip-lock bag method, I halved all of the liquid, except the whiskey! I subbed beef broth for the water, and OJ instead of pineapple. Just a few splashes of smoke. A recipe well done, highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I am the author of this recipe, but I need reviewers (users) to know that you can combine these same ingredients (minus the steaks) and cook over low medium heat for 10 minutes. Add 1 tablesspoon cornstarch to thicken. Simmer an additional 4 minutes. Use as a sauce to dip steaks in while eating! OR~ I have never done it but it was suggested to me to boil the marinade that is left over for same purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Wow! This was really good. What more can I say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Fantastic marinade! We used Jack Daniels and followed the recipe, marinated ribeyes overnight and they were great! We will use this recipe over and over, and can't wait to make this one for family. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
The blend of flavors was to perfection so good!I broil it in my oven 8 min in one side and 7 min on the other it came up really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusyQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Ellsworth Afb, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Thank you for sharing this excellent and flavorful sauce/marinade! A few comments: - I used about 1/4 tsp liquid smoke - I added a small amount of ground black pepper and some red pepper flakes - next time I will omit the teriyaki sauce and just add a tsp of grated ginger (the other teriyaki components are sufficiently present in the marinade) - I combined the ingredients in an electric blender and then smoothed, using half for sauce, half for marinade - I deglazed with the sauce, then added heavy cream to make a whiskey cream sauce. I also used the sauce as is. Neither was as good as the marinated steak on its own. - The flavor slightly overpowered the steak for my liking. Will love to see how it works on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I made this steak for my father's birthday (he's a big steak man) and he loved it!! I even loved it and I don't really eat steak all that often. This recipe come HIGHLY recommended!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
What an excellent marinade! I used chicken stock instead of water, and used 3/4 cup of whiskey on accident! I used minced ginger instead of the teriyaki sauce, and added a bit more brown sugar. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bear River City, Utah, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I used this recipe with steak tips, and instead of grilling them, I actually cooked them IN the mixture, on the stove. and they were A-MAZING. Best steak tips I've ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States