Whiskey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I've made this twice now. The first time I cooked it exactly as stated served over rice and it was so-so (3 stars) but my husband liked it so I gave it a second chance. The second time it was definitely 5 stars. I added 1 extra tbs of whisky and another of sugar and 1 heaped tablespoon of very finely chopped red chili. In the morning I mixed up the sauce ingredients, pierced the chicken all over with a fork and then marinated it until it was time to cook it. I scraped off the marinade and cooked it as given in the recipe and it was much nicer. We served it the second time with green salad, couscous and a dollop of sour cream on top and it was totally stunning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorne, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Smells awful when it's cooking; the bourbon will make you gag, but when it comes off the stove it's delicious. I added a little bit more brown sugar than the recipes asked for to make it a little bit more carmelizzed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
Super easy, Super fast and an excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Delicious, only difference was I had no pineapple juice and so used honey and water instead of the 1C pineapple juice. Also, left the breasts in fillet sized and it made a great gourmet-tasting dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
I liked this. The whiskey and pineapple juice went very well together. I think the next time I make it I'll add a little more pepper and probably some more garlic, maybe some fresh garlic along with the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
This recipe was easy to make, but I didn't really like it. For anyone who thinks it may, it does NOT taste anything like TGIF"S. Although the chicken was really tender, the taste wasn't so great. All I could taste was pineapple juice, and I had to cook it for a lot longer than 15 min. to get it to reduce and to get the alcohol burned out of the dish. Sorry, but I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
As a busy college student, I greatly appreciated a recipe that was this quick, easy, and delicious. After taking the chicken out of the pan, add a touch of cornstarch to the sauce to thicken, then cover the chicken and serve with rice. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
A family friendly dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
I agree with MOLSON7 on this one all the way! I have to admit, when I first put it together, and "taste tested" it, my reaction was less then impressed.... then, I served it over rice and as I made my way through it, it seemed to get better and better... almost like an "acquired taste" sort of thing. I personally added a tablespoon of cornstarch to the "broth" to thicken it a bit. I will be making this one again, but think it can be much improved upon by using chunked pineapple in heavy syrup along with red and green bell peppers cut in strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
I thought this was a really great recipe. My Mom, Dad and I all loved it. It was easy to make and very tasty! I served it with green beans, salad, rolls, and mashed potatoes (with the sauce as the gravy for the potatoes). It was a good meal, and I will definitely make it again. I say to try it and experiment with it to your taste (more pepper or bourbon, etc.) With a jazzy Harry Connick CD playing in the background, you'll feel like you're eating on Bourbon Street.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States