Whiskey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I really liked it alot. I would have given it 5 stars but it really just tasted like sweet and sour chicken. Maybe I'll add more whiskey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This recipe was edible (or at least for myself and my daughter), but that's about as good as it got. My husband hated it. I wish I had read all of the reviews before I made it. I'm not sure if I'm going to try it again. There are so many changes we would make to it that it wouldn't even be close to the original recipe. I'm not sure this is worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
my husband loved this. We had no left overs. I added cornstarch like a previous review said to do and I added some broccoli. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Very tasty; a flavorful and easy meal. I did not find the amount of whiskey to be overpowering, though I could taste it in there. (Which is the point - otherwise, why bother?) I did use cornstarch to thicken the sauce, and like some other reviewers I felt that it didn't smell very good while cooking. It was yummy though and smelled good once it was finished and served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYRDYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
WOW!!!!!!! This is a million times better than any restaurant could make!!! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except: -replaced pineapple juice with syrup from canned pears (no pineapple juice handy) -sauteed chicken in chicken broth to keep some moisture in -added a tiny bit of crushed red pepper THE BEST!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortstack<3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong here, followed recipe to the tee and was not impressed. The whiskey was overwhelming, it was all I could taste. I know the recipe is called whiskey chicken, but I thought it would be like the Bourbon chicken you get at those Chinese places in the mall. IF I make again, I will use less bourbon whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gpanr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Sauce is ok in flavor, but pretty thin. I used cornstarch to thicken it, and also added some broccoli, red pepper, red onion and garlic to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Sauce never thickened up, it smelled bad when cooking and was barely edible even when served with rice as someone else suggested would improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Yummm... my family loved it! The only ingredient I left out was the whiskey because we didn't have any, but even without it I liked the flavor. Sort of sweet and savory! This is actually the closest I have come to the sesame chicken recipe at our local restaurant. I cut up the meat into thin strips cooked them in canola oil because I didn't have olive oil. Added the sauce a few mintues after the chicken. I also used about a teaspoon of cornstarch. Served it with Chinese Mie noodles and sugar snap peas!! Next time I'm going to use the whiskey and add more cornstarch because I like the sauce to really stick to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eas524

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
very good and easy put corn starch in the sauce. half cooked the chicken on the stove. then baked the rest of it in the oven with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States