Whiskey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This turned out well although I changed the baking method. I cooked my chicken on a griddle in some EVOO just to get it browned up and then transferred to a 13x9 pan. I stirred about 2 Tbsp. cornstarch into the sauce mixture and poured this over the chicken and baked it at 350 until the chicken was cooked through, about 30 minutes. The sauce thickened up nicely in the oven. You can definitely pick up the whiskey flavor a bit but it was not too overpowering even for the kids. served with mashed potatoes and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Fantastic. Just like bourbon chicken from the mall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I agree with many other posters...this recipe has great potential. I did add onion and chopped pineapple along with minced garlic to the chicken as it cooked. I didn't have any bourbon whiskey so I used an Irish whiskey. After simmering for 20 minutes I also had to add cornstarch to thicken the sauce. This will definitely be made again and will experiment more with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Springfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
We took suggestions of other reviewers & added 2 cloves crushed garlic, 1tsp. fresh ground ginger & a shake(or 2)of LA Gold (hot sauce). We also sautéed 1 sliced onion along w/ the chicken pieces. All of the above, we highly recommend. We steamed fresh carrots, broccoli & mushrooms & added to the sauce. I think this was a mistake as it watered down the flavor of the sauce. Next time, we’d serve over basmati rice (again), add the steamed vegetables & THEN the chicken w/ sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
We thought this dish was fabulous. Added a few more seasonings including ginger and added broccoli to the chicken. Served it over orzo pasta. Thanks so much Jamie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Although I changed some of the ingredients, I still gave it a 5 b/c my husband was whooping and raving about how good it was. I've spent hours on some recipes and have never gotten this reaction. Here's my variation (only because I didn't have some of the ingredients): Used thighs vs. breasts b/c they absorb flavor better and I'm not particularly fond of breast. Used soy sauce substitution (didn’t have soy sauce – recipe below). ¼ cup honey vs. pineapple juice (didn’t have on hand). Tennessee Whiskey – would use 2 Tbs next time or cook a little longer to burn off alcohol. 2 Tbs brown sugar, maybe a tad more. * Seasoned chicken with salt and sautéed, adding a small sliced onion halfway through and cooking until chicken was no longer pink and onion soft. * Added a chopped carrot and sauce mixture and brought it to a boil. Turned off heat and let it sit for 30 min (almost like a marinade) because I was waiting for hubby to get home. *Cooked for 15 minutes and added cornstarch to thicken. Served over mashed potatoes - loved it! and better yet, hubby loved it SOY SAUCE SUBSTITUTE 1 1/2 c. boiling water 4 tbsp. low sodium beef bouillon Pinch pepper 1 tbsp. dark molasses 4 tbsp. cider vinegar 1 tsp. sesame seed oil Combine all ingredients in a bowl, stirring to blend thoroughly. Pour into jars. Cover and seal tightly. May be refrigerated indefinitely. Shake well before using. Makes 2 cups sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
i must say that i wasn't sure what to expect from this dish. It was interesting to try, but i probabaly will not try this recipe again. I found it a little on the bland side. i was hoping for a little more spark in the dish ( because of the whiskey). I feel that there is something missing in the dish, and i cannot figure what it is. i beleive that this could be a a very good dish ( if i could figure out what the ingrediant is)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
We really enjoyed this as did our friends - there were NO leftovers. I doubled the recipe, went with extra garlic powder and added 2 T cornstarch to thicken the sauce, served over rice. Thought that it smelled great while cooking. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I'm sorry, but I truly did not like this dish. I would suggest that if you are not a fan of bourbon, you stay away. I am so-so about bourbon, but cooking it really brings out the pungent smell, which I couldn't handle. Other than that, I liked it, but the bourbon was so overpowering....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
really didn't care for this. I used crushed pinapple and southern comfort. It seemed to be a bit bland still, even with the changes, as suggested from others. I don't think I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States