Whiskey Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Very tasty; a flavorful and easy meal. I did not find the amount of whiskey to be overpowering, though I could taste it in there. (Which is the point - otherwise, why bother?) I did use cornstarch to thicken the sauce, and like some other reviewers I felt that it didn't smell very good while cooking. It was yummy though and smelled good once it was finished and served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BYRDYGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA
Living In: Robbinsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
WOW!!!!!!! This is a million times better than any restaurant could make!!! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except: -replaced pineapple juice with syrup from canned pears (no pineapple juice handy) -sauteed chicken in chicken broth to keep some moisture in -added a tiny bit of crushed red pepper THE BEST!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortstack<3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong here, followed recipe to the tee and was not impressed. The whiskey was overwhelming, it was all I could taste. I know the recipe is called whiskey chicken, but I thought it would be like the Bourbon chicken you get at those Chinese places in the mall. IF I make again, I will use less bourbon whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gpanr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Sauce is ok in flavor, but pretty thin. I used cornstarch to thicken it, and also added some broccoli, red pepper, red onion and garlic to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Sauce never thickened up, it smelled bad when cooking and was barely edible even when served with rice as someone else suggested would improve the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Yummm... my family loved it! The only ingredient I left out was the whiskey because we didn't have any, but even without it I liked the flavor. Sort of sweet and savory! This is actually the closest I have come to the sesame chicken recipe at our local restaurant. I cut up the meat into thin strips cooked them in canola oil because I didn't have olive oil. Added the sauce a few mintues after the chicken. I also used about a teaspoon of cornstarch. Served it with Chinese Mie noodles and sugar snap peas!! Next time I'm going to use the whiskey and add more cornstarch because I like the sauce to really stick to the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eas524

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
very good and easy put corn starch in the sauce. half cooked the chicken on the stove. then baked the rest of it in the oven with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This turned out well although I changed the baking method. I cooked my chicken on a griddle in some EVOO just to get it browned up and then transferred to a 13x9 pan. I stirred about 2 Tbsp. cornstarch into the sauce mixture and poured this over the chicken and baked it at 350 until the chicken was cooked through, about 30 minutes. The sauce thickened up nicely in the oven. You can definitely pick up the whiskey flavor a bit but it was not too overpowering even for the kids. served with mashed potatoes and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Fantastic. Just like bourbon chicken from the mall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I agree with many other posters...this recipe has great potential. I did add onion and chopped pineapple along with minced garlic to the chicken as it cooked. I didn't have any bourbon whiskey so I used an Irish whiskey. After simmering for 20 minutes I also had to add cornstarch to thicken the sauce. This will definitely be made again and will experiment more with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Springfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Chicken and Biscuits

It's like a cross between chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States