Whiskey Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This cake was OK. I didn't like it much, but a few of the older gentlemen at the party I served this at went nuts for it. It just tasted like plain white cake with a few nuts in it to me...It was certainly not dry, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUBlonde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
It did taste like butterscotch! It also smelled and tasted amazing. My only problem-the texture was a bit weird in places--I'm not sure if this is because of the syrup or because I used a cake from a mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Everyone raved about this cake! I made a few changes to the recipe. First, I used a yellow cake instead of a white cake mix. Instead of making the syrup and adding for the last 5 min of baking, I waited until I cooled and flipped the cake over and then drizzled the syrup and some walnuts on top. Also I omitted the butter in the syrup to achieve a more syrup-like consistency. I also had to wait for the syrup to cool completely so it would thicken up enough. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suziblue
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
So easy to do and it was very moist. I'll make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I made this exactly as written except I followed others' suggestion to poke holes in the cake before pouring on the sauce. It is absolutely delicious. I made it yesterday for tonight's dinner, but my son couldn't wait. The cake is half gone and it's only lunchtime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I used a good pound cake recipe in a Turk's head pan. I put some of the nuts in bottom of the pan, and made sure it was baked long enough!!! My glaze has 1 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup butter ...boil a few min. (do not stir) then add 1/4 cup whiskey. I used knitting needles to poke holes in the cake then poured the glaze over it. Let sit awhile then turn the cake out onto plate. Been doing this for almost 30 yrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made this with Scotch - and it was DELICIOUS! I poked holes in the cake as suggested which really helped to get that tasty butterscotch flavor into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Incredibly moist and very good. It could use some type of light glaze over top just for appearance. If not just serve it pre sliced on a nice plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Frankly, I think this recipe was improved a whole lot by virtue of the fact that I refused to boil the mixture once I added the whiskey - what's the point of adding the alcohol to the glaze if you're just going to cook it off? In fact, I added extra whiskey, and it made for a very moist, flavorful cake with a little bit of a kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This cake is very tasty! Next time, I might poke some holes in the cake so that the whisky runs inside it and not just on top. I will make it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny Sonja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States