Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Arg. It ended up getting stuck in the pan so about 1/3 of it looks like ... but it sure tastes wonderful!! Love how perfectly moist and *flavorful* it is! The outer pieces have a delicate crispiness from the sugar, providing a slight chewiness on the exterior. It's heavenly, really. I subbed half AP flour because I ran out of cake...and skipped the almond because I was out of that too. Another thing this recipe is good for: reminding me I'm out of the basics. =) Good luck! Grease that pan well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
im not sure what happend,but my cake didnt come out very good. people ate a little of it, but mostly just tossed the cake part and ate the strawberries i put on top. it came out with a rather strange flavor and was super heavy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is just one variation of a tried and true, classic pound cake with a standard list of ingredients and their measurements - 1 c. butter, 3 c. sugar, 6 eggs, 3 c. flour, a bit of flavoring and either a cup of buttermilk (usually with 1/4 tsp. of baking soda), a package of cream cheese, a cup of sour cream or, in this case, a cup of whipping cream. Some use cake flour, some all purpose flour, but the more you make this pound cake you'll find you won't even need a recipe for it anymore because the "formula" is so simple and straightforward, the ingredients and measurements like science. All variations are dependable and excellent but... this recipe is a little different from others in that it has a lighter, less dense crumb and is soooo tender and soft. I attribute that to the fact that cake flour and whipping cream are used. Exceptional, with expertly written instructions for those not familiar with the techniques necessary to make a perfect, heavenly pound cake. (The eggs are the only leavener in this type of cake for instance, so the creaming of the butter and sugar, then adding the eggs one by one to keep the batter emulsified and aerated is critical!) I used this batter for cupcakes today, adding about 1/4 cup of mullti-colored jimmies (fun!) and frosted them with a simple buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This cake is moist and dense enough as a pound cake for my taste. However, it tastes kind of eggy, so next time I will be more heavy handed with the flavoring. I baked this in two 6x3 pans, and it rose well without overflowing. DEFINITELY beat the butter and sugar thoroughly as directed to incorporate enough air for a light pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This is the best pound cake ever! I used European butter, baker's sugar and 2 tsp almond extract. First cake I made that turned out this good-so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
i was looking for a recie to use up my extra heavy whipping cream. The taste was okay but definately not a favorite. i dont plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
The ultimate pound cake! I enjoy adding the zest of one lemon to all my pound cakes, for a refreshing switch up. Thank you Toni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanelli

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is a tasty cake, heavy but with a fine crumb when sliced. I used a serrated knife and a sawing motion for best results. The recipe as written did not seem to have enough vanilla flavor so I added a whole lot more, about 4 Tablespoons of pure extract, and it was still understated. I don't know where that flavor went, maybe it just bakes out after such a long time in the oven. There's no specification for salted versus unsalted butter; I used unsalted but after a quick batter taste I felt I had to add a half teaspoon salt to balance some of the sweetness. I guess if you used salted butter, you could leave that out. I did not reduce the amount of sugar becaue I have found that it sometimes affects the structure and tenderness of the finished product by altering the end result of the creaming process. Overall I'm pretty happy with this recipe after ramping up the flavorings. A good post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monica724
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Very good cake, I learned how to make this from my grandmother. I ususally use 3 sticks of butter instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica724

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Just about the best pound cake I have ever made! Took to work & every one raved about it and asked for the recipe. It does take alot of beating, but well worth the effort. Has a very dense texture & would make strawberry shortcake. Thank you for this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States