Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
After reading the other recipes, I was afraid of the cake being too sweet or not flavorful enough... So I cut the sugar down to 2 3/4 cups (but 3 cups would have been fine) and I doubled the vanilla extract and I did add the almond plus 1 tsp rum extract... Which was almost too much. I added the extra extract cause I tasted the batter and I should have known better because the flavor always intensifies after you bake it. Pound cake isn't supposed to be super flavorful. It's supposed to taste light and buttery. Next time I'll just go with following the recipe (which I should have done in the first place) because I can tell I would have loved it. Also.. I did add a 2 tbsp of extra butter because I only had heavy whipping cream which has less fat than heavy cream.. And the texture was perfect. Follow the recipe exactly! Anyone who says the flavor is off must of never had regular pound cake to compare it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelseaDH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Wow, this recipe us a winner. Bit too sweet though. Next time I'll use two cups of sugar instead of three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Comfort Angyu-Osondu

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shavonne
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
No almond extract.... Leaves an aftertaste... Otherwise very smooth and rich and wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deeberry
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My family and friends loved it!!! I also added 1/4 cup buttermilk to the cake......it makes your cake SUPER MOIST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
ABSOLUTELY Fantastic!! This is an excellent recipe. My family, friends and co workers are always asking for this recipe. I would not change a thing other than the sugar amount, only if you prefer a less sweeter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by positiveenergee
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
My favorite pound cake! Love the texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by positiveenergee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This recipe was given way too many stars. I really like how the crust is crispy. However, when the cake first comes out it is moist and spongy and the way a pound cake should be but after it cools it is no longer spongy and moist. It becomes dry. I also used 2 cups sugar instead of 3 and thought it was still too sweet. I had pound cake in the past where the pound cake remained moist no matter what and that's the recipe I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Beautiful pound cake. All my co-workers loved it asked me to make another one. Followed recipe with no substitutions. Nice crust on top and great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This is one of my 5 star recipes - love it. Have a question - Can I make ahead of time and freeze? - putting confectioners sugar on after thawed? borninnyc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I love this cake so do my son! It is so easy and awesome. With a scoop of ice cream or fresh strawberries!! Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States