Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Like others, I doubled the extracts and used 1 TBSP less per cup of all-purpose flour. Halved the recipe and made mini-cupcakes. If you do this, be careful not to overbake! Definitely use the toothpick test. Mine took around 20 minutes. Flavor was good, very almond-y, much like a butter cookie. Appearances are not so great; cupcakes were flat and didn't hold shape very well. I frosted with the frosting recipe from "Wednesday Cookies" off this site. Good recipe, but will make as bundt as directed next time. *NEXT TIME IS HERE* Cake turned out PERFECTLY. I didn't have almond extract, so I tripled the vanilla. Delicious, light and beautiful! Didn't frost it and was still very flavorful. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I was so scared the batter was going to overflow in my pan because it came up within 1 inch of the top before baking. It didn't though, surprisingly. This made a wonderfully dense and fine textured cake. Changes I made: omitted almond extract (didnt' have any), doubled the vanilla, and added 1/2 tsp. creme bouquet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dnguy55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Definitely moist with a chewy crust. A deliciously true pound cake. This one goes into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
It was more like a regular cake than a pound cake and lacked flavor. This was not what I was looking for. However, when made with flour minus 1 TBSP per cup and an additional 1 tsp of vanilla and ½ tsp of almond ... it makes a wonderful 5 star pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I made this pound cake for Easter and LOVED it! After reading other reviews that said you couldn’t really taste the flavoring, I didn’t even bother to add any. I just made it as it was posted (without the almond extract) and it is so rich and delicious. My husband loves it. The cake is not too sweet, but just right. As someone else mentioned, I also used regular flour and just used 1 TB less per cup. It turned out fine. However, the cake took about 1 hour and 40 minutes to cook for me. I used an angle food cake pan so I’m not sure if that was the reason or not. Regardless, I’ll be making this cake again. It’s a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Excellent cake, I made it for the holidays and for friends, they loved it, my mother wants to know the recipe. I use the batter to make cupcakes....great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Turned out perfectly. I used all lemon extract and topped the cake with a lemon glaze. Mine was ready in an hour, be sure to check.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I'm really excited about this recipe. I'm able to configure it and do what I want to it. I'm making it for Thanksgiving right now. I added a small packet of strawberry jello and a cup of blended frozen strawberries to turn it into a strawberry poundcake. Lawd ha mercy... talking about good stuff! I'm an eating black man...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
this cake turned out so delicious. It was moist and tender-but not too. I added some blueberries and sprikled a generous helping of sugar in the raw before baking and made killer blueberry muffins. I also added a little more whipped cream-because it was left and a tbsp or so of cooking oil. Everyone who tried these was so impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather M.
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
When I was growing up, my aunt always made a whipping cream pound cake on special occasions. Now I've taken over this tradition and this recipe is just about like hers. It's always a huge hit at our gatherings! Most family members want to take some home if there's any left at the end of the day! I recommend this recipe; it is so easy to make and tastes just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moultrie, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States