Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
My texture came out perfect with a nuce crust on the outside, and a soft semi-dense almost white color on the inside. However, I usually follow a recipe exact the first time, then see if I need changes. This needs something. It lacked flavor other than maybe that tiny reach of flour flavor. Not sure if it needs salt, or like other and double the extrcts. A little let down after seeing the reviews. I might make again, then again I might not. Made a french buttercream to pipe on slices and place fruit on top, it helped with the taste, but still lacked something. Even my kids asked what was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Dryden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
So good! Made this for Easter dinner and everyone loved it. The outside developed a crispy little crust, and it was like it was candy coated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Excellent cake. Husband loved it. For my personal taste I will add more almond extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Absolutely perfect! Perfect to serve with fresh mascerated berries and some whipping cream! Be sure to generously grease the pan. I did run a knife between the cake and pan before I turned it out. Crunchy on the outside and tender on the inside! The almond extract is a must without it the cake does not have enough flavor. I did bake mine about 6 minutes more than called for but every oven is different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
excellent!!!! you can't go wrong- rich enough to skip the icing-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, and the cake came out beautiful. It tasted weird on my tongue, almost the texture of sand. I gave it to my neighbor and he loved it so I guess its just me. I have my own excellent recipe for a creme cheese pound cake so I will stick with that from now own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellesfive

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
way too much baking time. taste was ok, although we could only eat the very center since it was baked too long (as recommended)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Got raves from family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I baked this cake on Sunday ! My husband had asked to please make a whipped cream pound cake that his grandmother use to make, I must admit I was scared since I am first time baker! All I can say I got nothing but GREAT reviews on the cake & he loved it! Thank you to my coach ;) and all recipes! I did a good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
If half stars could be given, I would give this a 3 1/2 star. It took about 20 mins longer to cook. It had a good flavor but I felt like it need a quarter of a cup less flour because i kept getting a floury aftertaste. About two days later the cake started to get hard as well. It was very sweet as others complained and I like sweet pound cake. But a 1/2 cup to a 1 cup less of sugar would be better for this cake. Would I make this again? hmmmmm.......I would give it another chance so with that being said. Try the recipe out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Organic Nut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States