Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was a very good cake. I was looking for something a little lighter than my very good, but really dense 7-up cake. This cake was a little lighter and fluffier. For the butter lovers out there, this recipe is very similar to the one on the back of the Swans Down cake flour box. That recipe uses 3 sticks of butter with the other ingredient proportions the same, except for the extracts. I assume that that would add richness. I used 3 cups sifted cake flour 1/2cup of BP to add lift..1/2 teaspoon each of almond and lemon extract..and 3 teaspoons of vanilla extract. I also put cake in cold oven and set temp to 300..(this helps create the sugary crust) cooked for 1hr 20 min in my bundt pan.Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Oh My God!! This was the most awesome cake ever.. I used regular flour and it turned out moist,sweet n the hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I tried this recipe with no variations. It turned out perfectly! It was moist, light, sweet but not too sweet. I topped it with a cream cheese frosting that I added milk to make it a "pour-able" consistency. My boyfriend LOVED it. I took the rest to work and it has been devoured. I will definitely make it again. The cake did take well over 70 minutes to bake. It took closer to an hour and 45 minutes before a toothpick came out clean. So certainly check it at 70 minutes but I doubt if it will have baked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
After reading the other recipes, I was afraid of the cake being too sweet or not flavorful enough... So I cut the sugar down to 2 3/4 cups (but 3 cups would have been fine) and I doubled the vanilla extract and I did add the almond plus 1 tsp rum extract... Which was almost too much. I added the extra extract cause I tasted the batter and I should have known better because the flavor always intensifies after you bake it. Pound cake isn't supposed to be super flavorful. It's supposed to taste light and buttery. Next time I'll just go with following the recipe (which I should have done in the first place) because I can tell I would have loved it. Also.. I did add a 2 tbsp of extra butter because I only had heavy whipping cream which has less fat than heavy cream.. And the texture was perfect. Follow the recipe exactly! Anyone who says the flavor is off must of never had regular pound cake to compare it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelseaDH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Wow, this recipe us a winner. Bit too sweet though. Next time I'll use two cups of sugar instead of three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shavonne
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
No almond extract.... Leaves an aftertaste... Otherwise very smooth and rich and wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deeberry
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My family and friends loved it!!! I also added 1/4 cup buttermilk to the cake......it makes your cake SUPER MOIST!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
ABSOLUTELY Fantastic!! This is an excellent recipe. My family, friends and co workers are always asking for this recipe. I would not change a thing other than the sugar amount, only if you prefer a less sweeter cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by positiveenergee
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
My favorite pound cake! Love the texture!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by positiveenergee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This recipe was given way too many stars. I really like how the crust is crispy. However, when the cake first comes out it is moist and spongy and the way a pound cake should be but after it cools it is no longer spongy and moist. It becomes dry. I also used 2 cups sugar instead of 3 and thought it was still too sweet. I had pound cake in the past where the pound cake remained moist no matter what and that's the recipe I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States