Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Very good, basic pound cake, but not quite the recipe I've been looking for. This is a very light, fluffy, simple pound cake with great flavor and just the right amount of sweetness. I have been looking for a denser pound cake recipe like the older ladies at church used to make. This wasn't it, although it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I absolutely loved this cake! I used 3/4 cup of heavy whipping cream, 1/4 cup of toffee flavored coffee cream, and cake flour. MOIST & FABULOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
My son likes it. I did just as the recipe said. I did not add or subtract anything. The cake was very moist and light. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I cut the vanilla and doubled the almond extract, then served with pears and a drizzle of sugar syrup. wonderful basic pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob Davies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was a very good cake. I was looking for something a little lighter than my very good, but really dense 7-up cake. This cake was a little lighter and fluffier. For the butter lovers out there, this recipe is very similar to the one on the back of the Swans Down cake flour box. That recipe uses 3 sticks of butter with the other ingredient proportions the same, except for the extracts. I assume that that would add richness. I used 3 cups sifted cake flour 1/2cup of BP to add lift..1/2 teaspoon each of almond and lemon extract..and 3 teaspoons of vanilla extract. I also put cake in cold oven and set temp to 300..(this helps create the sugary crust) cooked for 1hr 20 min in my bundt pan.Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Oh My God!! This was the most awesome cake ever.. I used regular flour and it turned out moist,sweet n the hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I tried this recipe with no variations. It turned out perfectly! It was moist, light, sweet but not too sweet. I topped it with a cream cheese frosting that I added milk to make it a "pour-able" consistency. My boyfriend LOVED it. I took the rest to work and it has been devoured. I will definitely make it again. The cake did take well over 70 minutes to bake. It took closer to an hour and 45 minutes before a toothpick came out clean. So certainly check it at 70 minutes but I doubt if it will have baked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
After reading the other recipes, I was afraid of the cake being too sweet or not flavorful enough... So I cut the sugar down to 2 3/4 cups (but 3 cups would have been fine) and I doubled the vanilla extract and I did add the almond plus 1 tsp rum extract... Which was almost too much. I added the extra extract cause I tasted the batter and I should have known better because the flavor always intensifies after you bake it. Pound cake isn't supposed to be super flavorful. It's supposed to taste light and buttery. Next time I'll just go with following the recipe (which I should have done in the first place) because I can tell I would have loved it. Also.. I did add a 2 tbsp of extra butter because I only had heavy whipping cream which has less fat than heavy cream.. And the texture was perfect. Follow the recipe exactly! Anyone who says the flavor is off must of never had regular pound cake to compare it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelseaDH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Wow, this recipe us a winner. Bit too sweet though. Next time I'll use two cups of sugar instead of three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Comfort Angyu-Osondu

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shavonne
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
No almond extract.... Leaves an aftertaste... Otherwise very smooth and rich and wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States