Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
Made this cake the other day. My family just loved this cake. Dense,firm, and the crumb was very fine. Easy and tasty what a great combination. I wasn't sure about the amount of vanilla but I am sure glad I used the full amount a really nice vanilla flavor. I made the recipe Strawberry fluff (All Recipes) to go with it I didn't frost the cake but I added a spoon to each slice how pretty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I made this pound cake yesterday and was very pleased with the results. I followed the recipe exactly, making no substitutions or changes. If you like an old fashioned, dense, moist, and flavorful pound cake, then this is the cake for you. Like other reviewers I was nervous about the amount of vanilla called for, but I am so glad that I used the full amount. It gives great flavor without being over powering. This pound cake is clearly deserving of more than 5 stars. Thank you for a truly WONDERFUL recipe - one that I will look forward to making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made this easy on myself - measured out 2-1/2 c. of flour, and 1/4 c. plus 2 T. cornstarch. For some reason I have a tendency to make a lot of pound cakes and I've tried a good many of them. This recipe, while very good, is not my favorite. It's a beautiful cake in terms of texture, density and crumb. It's also very rich and moist, which was to be expected with the whipping cream and so many eggs. But it's almost TOO rich and eggy for a pound cake - 4-6 eggs, I've found, is perfect. I like that yellow "egginess" in a yellow layer cake, but didn't like it here. Also, it was a little too heavy on the vanilla for my tastes. Beware, this cake IS yellow, so keep that in mind if you're a doing a wedding cake or other cake where you want it to be more white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
EXCELLENT cake. Perfect texture, dense, moist, held up well for a sculpted wedding cake. I creamed the butter and sugar mixture for a good 6-7 minutes in my stand mixer, then beat the butter/sugar/egg mixture for another 4-5 minutes before adding the remaining ingredients. I also added a scant teaspoon of almond extract. Since this cake is so deliciously rich, I'm not sure I'd want to serve it with a typical amount of buttercream frosting. I covered the cake with a very thin layer of buttercream and fondant; any more than that would've been too much, to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I was looking for a sculpted-cake recipe and this one is terrific! Very dense crumb that holds up well to sculpting... and a wonderful flavor. (I didn't change the recipe one bit, aside from baking it in 4 small oval layers for about 35 minutes.) Came out very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Great cake, and easy to make. I baked in a bundt pan, and it was almost too much batter, but it worked. Glazed with Satiny Chocolate Glaze, from this site. I added a teaspoon of almond extract along with the vanilla, but next time I'd add less almond. I made this for my hubby's birthday, and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This cake was alright. It was easy to make. My only complaint was that it tasted a bit like eggs. I won't make this one again I don't think. I think it might be quite good with a good buttercream or something of the like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This was a great pound cake. My family loved it, devoured it immediately and asked when I was going to make another one. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
This is great for making petit fours as well. It is robust enough to endure dipping in apricot glaze then fondant without falling apart, but is moist and flavorful. It is even wonderful plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was wonderful and easy. I used 2 cups of sugar instead of 2 and a half cups. It was so moist. Just be careful not to overbake. Good with flavored whipped cream or just by itself. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States