Whipping Cream Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was SO moist and good--and stayed that way for several days. So easy, and yes, DO add all that vanilla. A dense cake with a fine crumb that is a nice change from the usual spongy variety of cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Pretty good...I used this recipe for cupcakes and they came out very moist. I usually add a little salt, but I forgot this time - made a big difference...Needs salt to bring out the sweetness...Didn't have cake flour - used 7/8 c. flour + 2 T. cornstarch for each cup cake flour...I'm planning to frost them - hopefully that will help with the sweetness...Didn't use almond extract, just extra vanilla (LOVE vanilla extract!). Also used 2/3 c. heavy cream + 1/3 c. vanilla caramel coffee-mate. Overall, a good recipe, just need to tweak (sp?) it a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I was looking for a sculpted-cake recipe and this one is terrific! Very dense crumb that holds up well to sculpting... and a wonderful flavor. (I didn't change the recipe one bit, aside from baking it in 4 small oval layers for about 35 minutes.) Came out very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Excellent cake but I would add a little salt to bring our the flavor more-maybe 1/2 to 1 tsp. But a nice dense cake, especially good with raspberry sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
My wife loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I needed a cake recipe for a sculpted cake, which I've never done before and found this one. I agree, it's dry without something else, and definitely watch it in the oven, don't overbake. But with a good buttercream frosting it worked very well. Perfect for sculpting cakes. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was wonderful and easy. I used 2 cups of sugar instead of 2 and a half cups. It was so moist. Just be careful not to overbake. Good with flavored whipped cream or just by itself. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This was very good a big hit withall the family. A nice dense cake thats easy to make. I love it and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coniston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
A little disapointed on how this cake turned out. You definitly need to add a bit of salt to even out the sweetness. Also very dry....I will not use again, thanx anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Excellent pound cake. The texture was perfect. It was great with strawberries and whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annanthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States