Whipped Sweet Potatoes with Pears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Great recipe. Although, we are trying to watch our sugar intake. I left out the brown sugar, milk and orange juice (didn't have the OJ) . It was plenty sweet enough and was a great addition to our Sunday dinner. Next time I may add a couple eggs to make it stiffer and sprinkle the nuts on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Delicious! I will absolutely make this again. SOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This was quite nice but it's pretty sweet. Has a dessert-ish quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is Divine! Instead of evaporated milk I used just a splash or two of half and half when cooking the pears and did not use ANY sugar-the pears are sweet enough. I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Wow, this one stole the show from the Turkey!! My dad went for three helpings and so this recipe will make it all the way to Switzerland since my parents just have to have it!! Due to time constraints I also used canned pears but it didn't seem to hurt the recipe at all. I will make this one over and over again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damaris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Very good! Note to self: Omit the milk to make them a bit stiffer. When scaled down to 3 servings (which is more like 6 for a side dish on a holiday) use 3 small sweet potatoes, 1 1/2 pears simmered in a tablespoon of water and 3/4 tsp vanilla until tender, a tablespoon of butter and a little less than 1/4 tsp cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I usually don't bother making sweet potatoes because my family doesn't care for the traditional overly sweet versions topped with marshmallows. Everyone really liked this recipe. It can be made ahead of time and I think it tastes even better reheated a couple of days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
A new twist on an old favorite. I loved adding the pears.....I even used an extra one. I didn't have enough sweet potatoes on hand (I used canned), so I added canned sliced carrots to the mix and it turned out great. I'm taking it to work tomorrow for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was fantastic! I will make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This turned out really tasty is a little sweet But the kids loved it. I used fresh pears but canned would work just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States